ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Speakers continue to Clip?  (Read 7371 times)

Ever Cruz

Speakers continue to Clip?
« on: August 22, 2019, 11:14:51 PM »

I'd just like to say I am not a sound engineer and am new to all this.

Building dimensions are 100ft long & 45ft wide and about 50 ft tall.

At my church we have a total of 6 singers.1 guitar. 1 piano. And a mic'd drum set.

Mixing console: Behringer x32

We have two speakers linked to each other on the left side of the stage and the right side of the stage as well facing the people. All 4 speakers are the harbinger VARI 2315 12" powered speakers that are 2000w.

Everything except the bass kick of the drum is being routed to all the speakers. I used to have them at 11 o'clock but they kept clipping and distorting. Then I moved them down to 10 o'clock but they all still kept clipping. Then I turned down all the gain on all the channels from the behringer x32.... BUT they still kept clipping. I turned down the speakers down to 9 o'clock and they stopped clipping but occasionally when everyone is singing or playing it clips AGAIN. If I turn down the speakers anymore you can barely hear anything.

Are the speakers just too weak? The Left/Right on the behringer x32 is almost always less than halfway.

Anything helps.

Thanks.

Scott Holtzman

• Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Speakers continue to Clip?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2019, 01:11:56 AM »

I'd just like to say I am not a sound engineer and am new to all this.

Building dimensions are 100ft long & 45ft wide and about 50 ft tall.

At my church we have a total of 6 singers.1 guitar. 1 piano. And a mic'd drum set.

Mixing console: Behringer x32