ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Dual Power Supply Question  (Read 584 times)

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1949
  • Corpus Christi, TX.
Dual Power Supply Question
« on: December 28, 2019, 02:12:30 pm »

I have a Soundcraft Compact Stagebox which has dual power supplies with 2 power cords and 2 on/off switches.

Is it best to leave both on for backup, or just one and only turn on the other if needed if the first one fails?

Thanks
Logged
"At first you don't succeed, go back to the drawing board."

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6867
  • Audio Plumber
Re: Dual Power Supply Question
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2019, 02:22:22 pm »

I have a Soundcraft Compact Stagebox which has dual power supplies with 2 power cords and 2 on/off switches.

Is it best to leave both on for backup, or just one and only turn on the other if needed if the first one fails?

Thanks

Leave both on, and if you have a UPS for the box, plug 1 PS into the UPS and 1 direct so if the UPS fails you still have power.

Mac
Logged

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1000
Re: Dual Power Supply Question
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2019, 08:43:10 pm »

Leave both on, and if you have a UPS for the box, plug 1 PS into the UPS and 1 direct so if the UPS fails you still have power.

Mac

To expand on what Mac said (which is 100% correct of course).  The UPS protects you against circuit failure.  You run one PSU on the UPS and one off to protect you against UPS failure.  You run 2 PSU to protect you against a single PSU failure.  With all that in place you're pretty much covered and don't have to worry about redundant isolated power runs to the equipment.  Keep in mind you should have a similar power setup (if possible) on all pieces of a distributed console setup.  Otherwise loosing one could still cause a nasty pop to come through an output that's still up elsewhere down the line. 
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21485
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Dual Power Supply Question
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2019, 10:12:02 pm »

Another UPS/dual PSU thing (stolen from the original live audio board):  if your console has an external video display, power it from the line and not UPS.  That way you'll know you've lost power instead of the surprise when the UPS runs out, and you can switch the display to the UPS service to save/shut down as may be appropriate.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1949
  • Corpus Christi, TX.
Re: Dual Power Supply Question
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2019, 01:21:30 pm »

Leave both on, and if you have a UPS for the box, plug 1 PS into the UPS and 1 direct so if the UPS fails you still have power.

Mac

That's what I thought but wanted to make sure.

Thanks
Logged
"At first you don't succeed, go back to the drawing board."

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Dual Power Supply Question
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2019, 01:21:30 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.078 seconds with 22 queries.