ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: QSC PLD4.5 vs PL380 on subs  (Read 12721 times)

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: QSC PLD4.5 vs PL380 on subs
« Reply #30 on: August 25, 2019, 02:20:22 PM »

I have no experience with these but Peavey is making bold claims saying their amp can do 2x3750 watts @ 2 ohms at under 15 pounds for $1,000.  Peavey isn't what it used to be so I would proceed with caution.

I don't doubt that Peavey will meet their specification, the question is "for what duration"?  That's probably why Scott doesn't like the way they perform on subs - I'm betting the amp goes into current limiting either because of insufficient current reservoir or the PSU is current-limited on the mains supply side.  His comment about them not doing 240v reflects that.
"If you're passing on your way, from Palm Springs to L.A., Give a wave to good ol' Dave, Say hello to progress and goodbye to the Moonlight Motor Inn." - Steve Spurgin, Moonlight Motor Inn

Dave Pluke

• Northwest GA, USA
    • BIGG GRIN Productions
« Reply #31 on: August 26, 2019, 04:49:41 PM »

Does anyone here have experience as to how Peavey's IPR2 7500 would compare to these on sub duty?

I have the Crest variants of the 5.0 and 7.5.  Both went into permanent "ACL" error mode when stored in my warehouse.  It's not climate controlled, but it is tempered.  Note that no other piece of equipment similarly stored has ever hiccuped.

Never had a chance to push them hard, but would hesitate to recommend them for any duty based on the above.  To make matters worse, they're not even heavy enough to use as door stops!

Dave
...an analog man in a digital world [tm]

Flying direct to nearly everywhere out of ATL

David Morison

• SR Forums
  • Aberdeen, Scotland
« Reply #32 on: August 27, 2019, 09:53:06 AM »