ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sub(s) to Complement Yamaha DBR10s  (Read 2113 times)

Tommy Peel

• Longview, Texas
Sub(s) to Complement Yamaha DBR10s
« on: July 26, 2019, 09:54:53 PM »

I've got a pair of Yamaha DBR10s I've been using for the past several months for small gigs and church events along with my XR18. I've decided I'd like to add a sub or two to increase my capabilities. The gigs I tend to do are typically 50-150 people; occasionally I'll do something larger but not very often. Music is frequently acoustic, but we're doing "full band" some as well(which has prompted the upgrade). Volume levels are well below "full rock concert" levels. I could see upgrading the tops down the road and keeping the DBRs for monitors, but that's not in the cards right now.

I've been eyeing the EV ELX200-12SPs as they are fairly compact and lightweight for subs; I'm currently hauling gear in my Focus Hatchback so I've got to get something smallish and lightweight. Would a 15in sub be significantly better/louder? Are there other lightweight subs I'm not seeing? Will I be happy with one or should I get 2 right out of the gate?

Bradford "BJ" James

Re: Sub(s) to Complement Yamaha DBR10s
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2019, 11:14:25 PM »

One DXS12 will work nicely with a pair of DBR10.
Proud Canadian dealer for Danley Sound Labs, A&H, Yamaha, QSC, Yorkville and more.

Tommy Peel

• Longview, Texas
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2019, 12:50:24 AM »

One DXS12 will work nicely with a pair of DBR10.

Definitely seems like a good option; my biggest concern is the weight(66 lbs). But that probably wouldn't be too hard to load. According to he specs they get quite a bit louder than the EVs.

Mike Pyle

• Santa Rosa, CA
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2019, 02:01:11 AM »

Yamaha currently has a $100 factory rebate on the DXS12 MK2.
Mike Pyle  Audiopyle Sound  707-315-6204