ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: X32 wont output  (Read 1528 times)

Mark Woodham

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
X32 wont output
« on: July 15, 2019, 07:14:04 pm »

I have an x32 that was hit by lightning. I have replaced the main pcb board and now have aes working, but upon further inspection there were several capacitors that were blown on the output cards. I ordered replacement cards, but I still do not have any output audio. All of the input audio is sending and hitting the main Left/Right channel, just not actually outputting. Could the power supply card be an issue preventing the audio from leaving the console?
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6066
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2019, 12:31:05 am »

I have an x32 that was hit by lightning. I have replaced the main pcb board and now have aes working, but upon further inspection there were several capacitors that were blown on the output cards. I ordered replacement cards, but I still do not have any output audio. All of the input audio is sending and hitting the main Left/Right channel, just not actually outputting. Could the power supply card be an issue preventing the audio from leaving the console?

What if you send L/R somewhere else?  Have you tried the AES port?  Have you tried all 16 outputs?  What about when you solo it do you hear anything in the headphones?
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Jerome Malsack

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1354
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2020, 09:13:49 am »

also test the headphone output near the talk back.  You should be able to hear the L/R and verify a good signal from the inputs.
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1681
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2020, 09:38:12 am »

Lightning damage is a tough one.  There is often damage found in seemingly random places.  While you may be able to get the device functional, I'd have a hard time putting it back into service and expecting it to be reliable unless everything inside was replaced.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 862
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2020, 02:24:28 am »

Yeah, I believe there was a discussion on this forum a while ago and any lighting damage is always a complete replacement. Even if something works no, the likelihood that it will remain working is very low.
Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1875
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2020, 02:00:08 pm »

I would also be looking at the other equipment that was connected to the mixer at the time of the lighting strike.

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21567
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2020, 03:14:20 pm »

Drive-by posting.  He never logged back in again.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Russell Ault

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 786
  • Edmonton, AB
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2020, 06:57:47 pm »

Drive-by posting.  He never logged back in again.

I always wonder how many new users with only one post are waiting for an e-mail notification...

-Russ
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21567
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2020, 02:10:53 pm »

I always wonder how many new users with only one post are waiting for an e-mail notification...

-Russ

Hard to say.  I post enough that I disabled email notifications for replies, but don't get them for PMs or when users click on the email icon under my avatar.

I guess Electronic Home Publishing is content to let the software die.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1875
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2020, 05:32:06 pm »

I always wonder how many new users with only one post are waiting for an e-mail notification...

-Russ

I would say of the one post new users it's about 50 50, with the other 50% not coming back because they didn't get the answer they wanted.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: X32 wont output
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2020, 05:32:06 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.055 seconds with 24 queries.