ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: ideas/suggestions for newbie system  (Read 6857 times)

Nathan Riddle

• Niceville, FL
    • Nailed Productions
Re: ideas/suggestions for newbie system
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2019, 08:23:50 PM »

Hi all.
Newbie here who has been lurking.

Weekend warrior bassist, I'm looking at band leadership with a purchase
of a smallish system.

I also play in some other bands and would
like to use what I get in other situations.
(as in subs used in possible monitoring, or mains used for smaller gigs/side fills)

I'm in the mini van/garage style system.
Thinking maybe JTR 2 12 Captivator under Yamaha DZR 1 10's
Perhaps Ui24 or Qu Pac?

I have interest in learning and gear, but have never twisted the knobs.
I'm wondering if this is smart?
I know people that I could rent/borrow gear from to try out,
and have bought a small light rig from Mike Pyle.

I'll post some pics to give an idea of some of the gigs and rigs I'm already on.
Thanks for any advice and help!

TJ Cornish's website comes to mind.

http://tjcornish.com/articles/recommended-audio-equipment.html

Budget $10,000-20,000.

Needs, possible wired in ear rig, so would need
2 Subs
2 Tops
1 Digital mixer
Mic and speaker stands
Cases, covers, cables
Drum mic package
Vocal mics.

If I was to do it all over again, the TH118XL/SRX835 rig is extremely hard to beat for the money.
TH118XL, because they sound better than any dual 18 front loaded cab. Get the SRX subs if you need to save money. JTR is good too.

SRX835 is big and heavy though, so you might go with a two-way box.
I haven't heard the DZR series but they are also a contender. I've heard (from others) that the DZR is better than the SRX, so I'm not sure.
Danley's new FLX mains might be a good idea too though.

M32 or SQ6 (I like faders).