ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: DAC for stagebox  (Read 2620 times)

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2179
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2019, 04:32:38 pm »

Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.

John Roesli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • Solution Logix Inc.
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2019, 10:48:14 am »

I use a MYTEK 8x96DAC with 4 AES in and 8 analog out.
Logged

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2179
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2019, 03:10:18 pm »

I use a MYTEK 8x96DAC with 4 AES in and 8 analog out.

I only have 1ru available, so this won't work. 
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.

Steve Ferreira

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 373
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2019, 10:31:57 am »

I only have 1ru available, so this won't work.

XTA DP448 is a 1ru that will take in 2 AES in and 8 analog out.
Logged

Caleb Dueck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1265
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2019, 11:45:51 am »

I only have 1ru available, so this won't work.

Xilica QR1 will do 4x4 Dante, AES3, and analog I/O.  Card based, 1/2 rack wide.
Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2179
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2019, 12:36:19 pm »

I don't need any processing.  Just conversion from AES to analog.
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.

Mark Wilkinson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 991
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2019, 12:46:09 pm »

That's actually what I'm doing now, and it works great.
But I'm about to pull the trigger on some SM80s and a DNA amp to go with my TH118s. 
It's a 4 channel amp, but only has one stereo AES in (grr).

As I remember, in the System Engineer software, the SC-48 let's you choose between, 4 analog in, 2 analog and 1 AES (2ch), or 2 AES.
I thought the DNA amps have the SC-48 as their built-in front end.....?
Logged

Craig Hauber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 654
  • Mondak Sound Design - Plentywood MT/Grenora ND
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2019, 01:46:52 pm »

I don't need any processing.  Just conversion from AES to analog.
Get the Dante option.
Then go AES to Dante and get your 4 digital inputs that way.

https://www.rdlnet.com/product.php?page=887
Logged
Craig Hauber
Mondak Sound Design
-Live PA
-Installs
-Theatre

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2179
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2019, 04:43:48 pm »

The problem with the DNA amp is it has only one AES input (2 channels), and I could use two (4ch) .
The cost of going Dante on both my Performer ($990), and the DNA ($500) was more than I could justify or afford.
It would be totally fun, but I don't have plans to do big enough shows to warrant the capability.
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.

Taylor Hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 842
Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2019, 05:23:05 pm »

The AJA ADA-4 should do the trick, and is small enough to mount anywhere in your rack so you'd gain a rack space back, in essence.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/899105-REG/AJA_ada4_4_Channel_Bi_Directional_Audio_A_D.html
Logged
There are two ways to do anything:
1) Do it right
2) Do it over until you do it right

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: DAC for stagebox
« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2019, 05:23:05 pm »


Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.05 seconds with 25 queries.