ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers  (Read 405 times)

jesseweiss

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 395
Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« on: June 09, 2019, 12:39:32 pm »

Our DBR10s only have one xlr input with mic/line settings. The 2nd xlr input is labeled Line only, and isnt sensitive enough to get good gain with a mic. If we wanted to use 2 mics without setting up our mixer, could we loop the Thru output from each speaker to the other? So mic into input 1 on each speaker, then Thru out to input 2 on the other.

It seems like it would work theoretically,  but I'm worried there are issues I'm not aware that could cause problems.
Logged

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1299
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2019, 01:39:33 pm »

What are these mic going to be used for?

I could see the speaker looping idea possibly creating a feedback loop between the speakers.

Could you just combine the two mics, a Y cable will work with dynamic mics, best to use the same model of mic.
To do it "right" Whirlwind makes a transformer based mic combiner.

I have seen some small passive mic mixers, can't remember the make and model right now.

Keith Finch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2019, 01:45:31 pm »

Logged

jesseweiss

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 395
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2019, 02:43:49 pm »

What are these mic going to be used for?

I could see the speaker looping idea possibly creating a feedback loop between the speakers.

Could you just combine the two mics, a Y cable will work with dynamic mics, best to use the same model of mic.
To do it "right" Whirlwind makes a transformer based mic combiner.

I have seen some small passive mic mixers, can't remember the make and model right now.

Vocals at practice and that's what I was worried about, feedback.

I may have some y cables,  but didn't even think of a small mixer/pre like in the other post. I'll look around online.

Thanks!
Logged

Eric Snodgrass

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 155
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2019, 03:59:41 pm »

Low cost and No Power needed

http://www.artproaudio.com/product/dual-rdb/
Off-Topic -
Take a look at the pictures Art Pro Audio uses for this item on their website.  It's a used piece of gear with the lettering scrapped off in places.  It's also dusty. 
One would think that they had a new item to use for the pictures. 
Logged

Chris Grimshaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1038
  • Sheffield, UK
    • Grimshaw Audio
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2019, 05:21:10 pm »

The idea you had will work. You can route Ch1 input to the XLR output.

A better option, IMO, is to simply have a speaker per mic.

Chris
Logged
Sheffield-based sound engineering.
www.grimshawaudio.com

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1299
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2019, 08:04:57 pm »

Off-Topic -
Take a look at the pictures Art Pro Audio uses for this item on their website.  It's a used piece of gear with the lettering scrapped off in places.  It's also dusty. 
One would think that they had a new item to use for the pictures.

That is kind of bad!

I've seen a couple pieces of equipment on manufactures websites that were missing screws. It's like they took the proto type to photo studio.

jesseweiss

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 395
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2019, 12:16:22 pm »

The idea you had will work. You can route Ch1 input to the XLR output.

A better option, IMO, is to simply have a speaker per mic.

Chris

That works, but it means that each mic output is louder depending on which speaker one is closer to.

It's for a weird situation where my band practices with middle school kids for an event we run and we aren't all in the path of both speakers.
Logged

Brian Adams

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 347
    • Adams Production Services
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2019, 01:41:52 pm »

That is kind of bad!

I've seen a couple pieces of equipment on manufactures websites that were missing screws. It's like they took the proto type to photo studio.

Most product "photos" these days aren't photos at all, but very realistic renderings. Sometimes the product hasn't even had a prototype yet, at least not one that you'd want people to see. At least ART is showing you what the actual product looks like, I guess.
Logged
Brian Adams
Adams Production Services
Vermillion, SD
adamsproductionservices.com

Steve Garris

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1278
Re: Routing to use 2 mics into DBR speakers
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2019, 02:11:59 pm »

I carry one of these in my toolbox. It works really well.

https://www.avlifesavers.com/xlrmixm.htm
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.035 seconds with 23 queries.