ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New member intro and small venue questions  (Read 1190 times)

Ed Hitchcock

• Lab Lounge
New member intro and small venue questions
« on: May 30, 2019, 03:22:22 PM »

I have been lurking for a while, this is my first post. Since I am a newbie to this forum, I hope this is the right place.
As a quick intro, I am a high school science teacher with a background in paleontology and astronomy, but I have also worked in theatre professionally, off and on, for over three decades. I am more of a sets and lighting guy than sound, but I have run my fair share of audio on a variety of shows, but theatre is a different beast than live bands in a small venue.
Recently I was asked to help out a friends band with a gig, and then found myself being adopted as a full member of the band. It’s a 6 member band (drums, keys, bass, lead & rhythm guitar and lead vocalist) that does festivals, bars, and corporate events. And yes, it is a side hustle for everyone.
The problem I am running into is, from my perusal of the interwebs, a perennial one: onstage volume is too loud, so no one can hear themselves, so everyone wants more monitor, so it gets louder… This is not so much an issue at festivals, but bars and trade shows, where people need to talk to each other, the FOH level has to allow for ordering drinks at least. At a recent trade show, the FOH level at a moderate distance from the stage was 98 dB, but onstage was 105 dB! With that kind of stage racket, FOH is a nightmare, because I am trying to pull a moderate level clean sound out on top of the mud.