ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha CL DCA Auto-naming?  (Read 431 times)

Alex Pregel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Yamaha CL DCA Auto-naming?
« on: May 19, 2019, 03:12:08 am »

Hello all! I'm trying to find if there's a (somewhat simple) way to get dca auto-naming on the CL/QL consoles where the DCA would display the name of the channel is assigned to. I know some of the older consoles included this feature (PM1D), but I can't seem to find that function on their newer consoles. Am I just missing something in a menu somewhere or would this require some custom computer programming (If I could find the network protocol)? Thanks in advance!
Logged

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: Yamaha CL DCA Auto-naming?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2019, 05:34:11 am »

On a console with a flexible channel layout why would you want to put only 1 channel on a DCA...

I can agree with older consoles but from what I remember you can setup a custom bank or two or something like that with a completely flexible channel layout?
Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver

Kevin Maxwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1154
Re: Yamaha CL DCA Auto-naming?
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2019, 09:24:23 am »

On a console with a flexible channel layout why would you want to put only 1 channel on a DCA...

I can agree with older consoles but from what I remember you can setup a custom bank or two or something like that with a completely flexible channel layout?

This sounds like a request for theatrical DCA mixing where what is assigned to the DCAs can change per scene. Becuse the people that mix this way don't want to have to move from a few faders that they are constantly moving. They may be doing line by line mixing because of how 2 mics that close to each other interact, so they only want one up at a time. I use automixers on the dialog parts to minimize the necessity for line by line for the dialog.   
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1464
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Yamaha CL DCA Auto-naming?
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2019, 01:25:42 pm »

How much would you be willing to pay for that feature?
Why not just program the DCA name per scene?
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Alex Pregel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: Yamaha CL DCA Auto-naming?
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2019, 09:46:23 pm »

How much would you be willing to pay for that feature?
Why not just program the DCA name per scene?
I currently do just type the names into the DCAs for each scene. However it would be nice to remove that extra step especially when shows can reach 80+ scenes. Does anyone know if there is a network protocol document available for the CL/QL desks?
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1464
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Yamaha CL DCA Auto-naming?
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2019, 12:01:04 pm »

I humbly submit I probably know more about the CL/QL communication than anyone other than Yamaha. Contact me at my website if you're interested in pursuing this further.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2112
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Yamaha CL DCA Auto-naming?
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2019, 01:57:52 pm »

I humbly submit I probably know more about the CL/QL communication than anyone other than Yamaha. Contact me at my website if you're interested in pursuing this further.

i was going to say this for you, but hadn't gotten around to it yet.   :)

He's not kidding.  He may know MORE than any one person at Yamaha does...
Logged
brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.038 seconds with 23 queries.