ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Opinions for Digital Mixer for small AV Company  (Read 4189 times)

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Opinions for Digital Mixer for small AV Company
« Reply #20 on: May 01, 2019, 02:29:37 pm »

I use a M32, DL32 and tour Grade CAT5 and it works stellar!  I put the board out front when I can or mix with an iPad when necessary! Tough to beat the Midas preamps and motorized faders!  I'm just getting started with Mix Station Pro and I think that will simplify things for me out front?

No, it's not tough to beat Midas preamps.  I have a 10 lbs hammer that can lay waste to them in 1 blow.  It works on Soundcraft and Yamaha, too!  Equal opportunity for every pre in the biz!   8)

So tell me, Mark, how do *you* isolate the preamps from the AD conversion and subsequent digital summing algorithms and final DA conversion?  By what process or technique were you able to make measurements or audition the signal at those points?  How do you exclude power supply and internal PC board trace contributions to noise floor and digital cross talk?  The honest answer is that for 99.997% of end users, those aren't doable.