ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?  (Read 6363 times)

Scott Holtzman

• Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2019, 02:14:19 AM »

Hi Scott, (GAVS) Your experience in audio is appreciated. Newbie here.

We wouldn’t be adjusting the HPF during a production but during setup as we trying to get the best sound out of the monitors without over powering them. (We also use the HPF in the Soundcraft mixer.)

I believe that the speaker cable loss is doable according to the charts I’ve looked at. Heavier gauge copper $$$ would always be better.)

The power bar we're using is the Furman M-8x2 Power Conditioner. It’s also a surge protector. (Sweetwater). I have the digital mixer on a UPS in case of any sudden utility power glitches.

I’ll look into that “remote turn on from stage” suggestion.

Actually outer mixer could be on stage too … since we run it via Wi-Fi & ethernet.

What is GAVS?

So that amp is powering monitor not mains?

The UPS is always a good idea.  Surge suppressors and line filters don't add a lot of value over a  conventional power strip. 

The high pass should be set for the lowest frequency you want to ever send to the speaker and left alone.  The tweaks you speak of should be done in the board.  Frankly I don't ever think I have seen an amp at FOH,  in installs the amps are usually in locked racks or an amp room.  On tour all amps live on or right off the stage deck.

Hope this helps.

Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Dan Courtney

« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2019, 07:32:02 AM »

What is GAVS?

So that amp is powering monitor not mains?