ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11]   Go Down

Author Topic: Digico my worst nightmare high end mixing console  (Read 31463 times)

brian maddox

• HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Digico my worst nightmare high end mixing console
« Reply #100 on: August 15, 2019, 10:43:21 PM »

We'll, there were two different versions of the PM5D, the original version (analog gain) the RH version (recallable head amps). Both had different preamps. Admittedly, the RH improved the preamp sound from the original version.

I'm only picking this out because it so illustrates your point [and mine too].

Back when the PM5d came out, i clearly remember one of the alleged selling points for the NON-RH headamps were that they "sounded better" than the recallable ones.  At least that's the mantra i heard again and again.  i only mixed on the 5d a couple of times, so i have no personal experience in this, but clearly your experience is literally the opposite from what the established wisdom was, at least in my circles at the time.  To be crystal clear, i'm NOT saying you're wrong.  I'm saying that the fact that your experience is the polar opposite of mine just proves how ridiculous all of this is.

/begin rant

i'm so tired of things that are obviously subjective [sound of preamps, desks, etc.] being discussed as if they are objective facts with clear winners and losers.  It's just nonsense.  The differences are minuscule and utterly irrelevant.  I've mixed thousands of shows and never once had someone complain about the "sound" of my console or preamps or whatever.  Yet multi-million dollar buying decisions are based on this nonsense.   it just makes me Crazy...

sorry. i'll get off my box now...

/end rant
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
[email protected]
Savannah, GA

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...