ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?  (Read 1202 times)

Dan Courtney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« on: March 31, 2019, 07:56:16 pm »

I need to drive 2 mono FOH speakers and 2 daisy chained stage monitors.

Will a 2 channel power amplifier do?

If Yes, how would it be best to wire it?

Details:
2 Electro-voice EKX-12 - 350 Watt - FOH speakers - (Passive)
2 Stage Monitors - 250 - Watt (Emininence Beta 10A) plus -Pyramid TW44 1-Inch Tweeter
? Power Amp -- not purchased yet (but 2 channel seems cheaper)

Mixer -- SoundcraftUi24r
« Last Edit: March 31, 2019, 08:43:26 pm by Dan Courtney »
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1548
  • So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2019, 07:57:46 pm »

Depends on the amp and depends on the speakers.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Nathan Riddle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1598
  • Niceville, FL
    • Nailed Productions
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2019, 08:04:18 pm »

I need to drive 2 mono FOH speakers and 2 daisy chained stage monitors.

Will a 2 channel power amplifier do?

If Yes, how would it be best to wire it?

Reply with details such as make, model, modifications, quantity, etc. For all equipment.

We can help you out.
Logged
I'm just a guy trying to do the next right thing.

This business is for people with too much energy for desk jobs and too much brain for labor jobs. - Scott Helmke

Dan Courtney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2019, 08:42:05 pm »

Details:
2 Electro-voice EKX-12 - 350 Watt - FOH speakers - (Passive)
2 Stage Monitors - 250 - Watt (Emininence Beta 10A) plus -Pyramid TW44 1-Inch Tweeter
? Power Amp -- not purchased yet (but 2 channel seems cheaper)
Logged

Dan Courtney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2019, 08:42:31 pm »

Details:
2 Electro-voice EKX-12 - 350 Watt - FOH speakers - (Passive)
2 Stage Monitors - 250 - Watt (Emininence Beta 10A) plus -Pyramid TW44 1-Inch Tweeter
? Power Amp -- not purchased yet (but 2 channel seems cheaper)
Logged

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1337
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2019, 10:38:37 pm »

In general terms yes, one channel would run the mains the second would run the monitors.
Two speakers paralleled together would be a nominal four ohm load per channel.

An amp with something in 800 to 1000 watts at 4ohms would be safe for you mains but could be a little dangerous for you monitors.

Set the compressors on the main outs and the monitor aux out at a high ratio for some limiting and a little extra aggressive on the monitor aux out.

What amp are you looking at getting.

You will want some high pass filtering on your monitors, The
Ui24 does not have high pass filters on the outputs.

A budget amp that would be decent for your monitors would be a Crown XLS 1502 or 2002, they have a built in basic DSP you can set for high pass filtering. For your monitors I would have the high pass set around 110hz.

For that matter the largest XLS 2502 would work for your mains but maybe leave a little output of the speakers go unused.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2019, 07:50:20 pm by Mike Caldwell »
Logged

Marc Sibilia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • Princeton, New Jersey
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2019, 04:31:37 am »

You will want some high pass filtering on your monitors, The
Ui24 does not have high pass filters on the outputs.

The Ui24R does have HPF and LPF on the Master L/R Outs and Aux 1 & 2.  But you can also use the matrix to patch through the 4 additional channels that they added on V.2 of the firmware to have more flexible (adjustable slope) HPF and LPF, if you need it, as well as parametric EQ.
Logged

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1337
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2019, 08:29:28 am »

The Ui24R does have HPF and LPF on the Master L/R Outs and Aux 1 & 2.  But you can also use the matrix to patch through the 4 additional channels that they added on V.2 of the firmware to have more flexible (adjustable slope) HPF and LPF, if you need it, as well as parametric EQ.

I stand corrected, yes they do have HPF and LPF filters on the master and matrix outs.

So with that you could get something like a single QSC RMX and run the mains on one channel and the monitors on the other channel and do all the processing in the mixer.

Dan Courtney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2019, 10:09:05 am »

Mike & Marc, thank you for your quick and detailed responses.

For a small church, we have a limited budget and your knowledgeable suggestions are appreciated.

Dan  :)
Logged

Taylor Hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 529
Re: Can I Replace a 4 Channel Amp with a 2 Channel Amplifier?
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2019, 10:57:48 am »

Mike & Marc, thank you for your quick and detailed responses.

For a small church, we have a limited budget and your knowledgeable suggestions are appreciated.

Dan  :)
What kind of budget are you working with? We could help with a few amplifier suggestions that fit your price range and give you some wiggle room for other upgrades.
Logged
There are two ways to do anything:
1) Do it right
2) Do it over until you do it right
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.043 seconds with 21 queries.