ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recommendation on my lighting setup  (Read 3667 times)

Mike Deey

Recommendation on my lighting setup
« on: March 10, 2019, 04:51:57 PM »

Hi, this is my first post on this forum. 

I am looking for some recommendations regarding my basic lighting setup and how I can BEST use it for my situation (in regards to color/settings, etc.) 

Here's my situation.  I am a drummer in a 3 piece rock cover band.  Most places where we perform, we bring the lighting and space is somewhat limited depending on the venue size.  Time is also somewhat limited, as I have to set up/break down drums AND lights pre/post show. 

Here's my gear:

2 T-bars.  I usually set one T-Bar on each side of the stage.  (Very small venues, I only bring one T-Bar.)
8 Venue ThinPar 64 lights ( 4 on each T-Bar).  Pointed at band members, banner, bass drum logo, dance floor, etc.. Set on a color fade, or auto color switch.   Including DMX cables to master/slave.
2 Venue ThinPar64 that I set on floor, near my drums to light the drums with a static color (aka ego lights..haha)
2 cheap moving heads that I set on floor, connected Master/Slave mode so they mirror each other in an auto mode.
2 Chauvet Shocker 90 Strobes.  Attached to vertical post on T-Bar, pointed at Dance floor, in sound active mode.
Assorted DMX Cables of various length including one 50ft, to Master/Slave both t-Bars.

OK....I know there's only so much I can do on a limited amount of gear and I think using a DMX controller/software is overkill for a band that plays twice a month.  SO my main question is color suggestions for the ThinPars on my T-Bars. 

1) Should I have all 8 ThinPars the same color at any given time, via DMX Master/Slave so they all show the same color when they switch colors?  I would use my 50ft cable to accomplish this.