ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Fixture Brands for Rave-ish install environment  (Read 3741 times)

Scotty Myers

Fixture Brands for Rave-ish install environment
« on: February 19, 2019, 09:06:25 AM »

I've got little experience with the various brands of DMX fixtures and have thus far only used 3 brands; ADJ, Chauvet & Martin.  This seems a VERY competitive market from a price point perspective.  I'm sure some brands have much better reputations than others throughout the various price point levels.

I'm at the point where I'm choosing more complex fixtures like moving head and multi-function fixtures, so several potential issues come to mind, which are:
  • Price VS longevity - We need to strike a balance with this.  These lights are going to get 30ish hours of work a week and we can't have them malfunctioning/dying in 2 years.  But perhaps going with the lower prices and just tossing the fixture is a better approach after a 3-4 year life, as then the lighting will naturally get a "refresh" every few years?
  • Maintenance - I've noted a manufacturers talk about cleaning the external optics and internal options after some number of days.  Seems like 20-40 days are number I've seen on some fixtures.  These fixtures are 22-25 feet in the air in a permanent installs.  Their facilities do have a hydraulic lift, but we'd like to minimize how often we have to go up there as someone gets paid to do this, so that is a cost we have to consider.
  • Factory support - No matter how good the fixture, things need maintenance after some time.  What brands offer good support in parts and support even after the fixture of 5+ years old.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: February 19, 2019, 09:30:55 AM by Scotty Myers »

David Allred

Re: Fixture Brands for Rave-ish install environment
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2019, 09:58:14 AM »