ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Software Control Solution for Laymen  (Read 1224 times)

Scotty Myers

Software Control Solution for Laymen
« on: February 19, 2019, 08:50:10 am »

I've taken over a few lighting installs at a high-end gym and want to know if I'm using a reasonably good control solution, as I'm new to this.  This facility has a cycling room that in rave-ish.  They had in place Lightkey as their light control software, so I simply embraced it.  After learning the software, it seems to work fairly decently for such an application, but am curious if there may be better choices.  The operators of the lighting are not DJ's or lighting techs, but rather aerobics instructors who need control to be simple.  The lighting will end up being about 25 LED par lights, several light bars, 2 moving heads and a few "multi-function" fixtures, as well as a hazer.

What I like about it this software
  • Lightkey is a super supportive company.  They answer all questions usually in the same day.
  • I can limit the cues to simple buttons that any instructor and worker at the facility can understand.
  • I can set up sequences and timers that the instructors start with a simply button push.
  • I set-up only the faders I want them to have control of;  There are no unnecessary buttons or faders showing anywhere.
  • Midi control via an iPad is simple to set-up and customize with TouchOSC.  The buttons/faders on the iPad can match that on the computer software or at least be a subset.

The Negatives, or at least those things that are neutral points worth mentioning