ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Dante questions  (Read 8625 times)

Kevin Maxwell

• USA SW CT 46miles from MidTown Manhattan ATCF
Dante questions
« on: February 14, 2019, 09:31:31 AM »

Dante questions

I have mixed on a system that was interconnected with Dante but I had nothing to do with the setup and I am a complete novice regarding Dante. I have watched some videos but that hasn’t helped me too much yet.

I am working on a change to the speaker system in an install and the amps that look like the best choice that have the needed DSP also have Dante. This is a distributed system that will consist of around 20 – 30 speakers, there are 21 at the moment. The present mixer (Avid SC48) that we are in no rush to replace doesn’t have Dante but does have the AES XO16 card installed. I will most likely use the AES outputs on that card because I need a lot of outputs for different things. Including stems sent to the IEM system, that’s another story but no questions regarding that at the moment. The Amps don’t have AES inputs. I was going to use the Audinate Dante AVIO adapters to convert the AES outputs from the mixer  to Dante.

Am I correct to assume that I would need a gigabit switch at the FOH end to combine all of these AVIO adapters (4 or 5 of them) and another in the amp room backstage to split to the amps? I also assume that I can then in the amps pick the sends from FOH out of the Dante stream, including picking off the same signal to multiple amp channels. I will be using the matrix outputs of the mixer to send to the different amp channels. If this works as I think I see the advantage of Dante working as an audio distribution method to the amps instead of needing an additional DSP of some sort. Instead of a lot of Y cables.

Is there anything that I am missing?

Erik Jerde

• Classic LAB
Re: Dante questions