ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: control dbx 260  (Read 911 times)

dian r subekti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
control dbx 260
« on: February 08, 2019, 10:01:28 am »

hi is there anyone who has ever controlled two dbx 260 in parallel rs232 in one driveware software.or give DBX 260 id..
Logged

David Allred

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1798
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2019, 11:43:11 am »

hi is there anyone who has ever controlled two dbx 260 in parallel rs232 in one driveware software.or give DBX 260 id..
Theory:
The Driveware will allow multiple instances of the software to be open.
Each GUI can select which COMport is used.
So maybe on the software end.

On the hardware end you would have to dive into the options menu, but even if the option exists for assignment, some of our serial savvy folks would need to weigh in on if serial devices (connected in parallel) can have different communications from each other.

It is a shame the DBX forums are shut down.  Try their tech support (call).
Logged

Chris Hindle

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1655
  • Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Earth, Sol System,......
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2019, 12:35:52 pm »

hi is there anyone who has ever controlled two dbx 260 in parallel rs232 in one driveware software.or give DBX 260 id..
That's why networks were born.
Each RS-232 device would require its own port and cable from the host.
That's a hardware limitation.
If the software allows it, it would need a separate com: address for each unit.
Chris.
Logged
Ya, Whatever. Just throw a '57 on it, and get off my stage.

dian r subekti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2019, 08:22:21 pm »

Theory:
The Driveware will allow multiple instances of the software to be open.
Each GUI can select which COMport is used.
So maybe on the software end.

On the hardware end you would have to dive into the options menu, but even if the option exists for assignment, some of our serial savvy folks would need to weigh in on if serial devices (connected in parallel) can have different communications from each other.

It is a shame the DBX forums are shut down.  Try their tech support (call).


thanks man for expanation
Logged

dian r subekti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2019, 08:23:52 pm »

That's why networks were born.
Each RS-232 device would require its own port and cable from the host.
That's a hardware limitation.
If the software allows it, it would need a separate com: address for each unit.
Chris.

ok. means one dbx must have one rs232 and com port respectively
Logged

dian r subekti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2019, 08:25:58 pm »

That's why networks were born.
Each RS-232 device would require its own port and cable from the host.
That's a hardware limitation.
If the software allows it, it would need a separate com: address for each unit.
Chris.

ok. means one dbx must have one rs232 and com port respectively
Logged

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 853
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2019, 11:16:00 pm »

ok. means one dbx must have one rs232 and com port respectively

Correct.  You could also try out serial port servers.  There are single port and multi-port versions out there.  There are also multi-port usb serial interfaces as well.
Logged

dian r subekti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2019, 12:49:49 am »

Correct.  You could also try out serial port servers.  There are single port and multi-port versions out there.  There are also multi-port usb serial interfaces as well.

what is that?. hardware? does that mean that if we control 2 dbx 260 we have to open two driveware tabs?
Logged

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 853
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2019, 06:42:41 am »

what is that?. hardware? does that mean that if we control 2 dbx 260 we have to open two driveware tabs?

Itís been too long since Iíve used driveways to speak to that.  Iím talking generically about interfacing to RS232 gear.
Logged

dian r subekti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2019, 06:59:32 am »

Itís been too long since Iíve used driveways to speak to that.  Iím talking generically about interfacing to RS232 gear.

ok. so far I've been able to explain a lot. and I have to try it.
Logged

David Allred

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1798
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2019, 10:31:29 am »

what is that?. hardware? does that mean that if we control 2 dbx 260 we have to open two driveware tabs?
If you want to control them separately, they each need a port and a cable. (And a tab.)
Logged

dian r subekti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2019, 10:31:37 am »

If you want to control them separately, they each need a port and a cable. (And a tab.)

we have 2 usb converters. but for example on a computer we only have 1 usb slot, can the USB hub help?
Logged

David Allred

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1798
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2019, 02:22:04 pm »

we have 2 usb converters. but for example on a computer we only have 1 usb slot, can the USB hub help?

Only one?  Is there a serial port my chance?
Logged

Doug Johnson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 245
  • Rhoadesville, VA
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2019, 06:15:33 pm »

I did this many years ago.  Yes, each 260 needs to be on its own comm port and you need run a separate instance (tab, window) of Driveware for each.  You also have to set up the comm port in driveware that is using the "non-default" comm port every time you open the software.  It is very clunky and not the best solution.  I would sell your 260s and buy a 481 or 482.
Logged

dian r subekti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: control dbx 260
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2019, 09:13:21 pm »

I did this many years ago.  Yes, each 260 needs to be on its own comm port and you need run a separate instance (tab, window) of Driveware for each.  You also have to set up the comm port in driveware that is using the "non-default" comm port every time you open the software.  It is very clunky and not the best solution.  I would sell your 260s and buy a 481 or 482.

I just tried using a USB hub. I can control a lot of DBX. It works. But it must have a lot of RS serial to USB converter :'(
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: control dbx 260
¬ę Reply #14 on: February 11, 2019, 09:13:21 pm ¬Ľ


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.093 seconds with 22 queries.