ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Cat 6a vs Cat 5e - wiring a studio  (Read 806 times)

Jonathan Johnson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2952
  • Southwest Washington (state, not DC)
Re: Cat 6a vs Cat 5e - wiring a studio
« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2019, 12:09:03 pm »

As others have suggested, install some kind of conduit. If that's not feasible, go ahead and install 2-4 runs of balanced shielded audio cable (or bulk snake cable) and 2-4 runs of CATx networking cable. You might not need it, but it's easier (and tidier) to run extra all at once than to have to pull more in later.

Having at least 4 runs of audio cable will allow you to feed multiple signals back and forth.

The extra runs of network cable will allow you to create discrete network segments for different purposes without having to manage VLANs. It will also allow you to use "X-over-CATx" solutions like HDMI extenders while still having Internet access.
Logged
Stop confusing the issue with facts and logic!

Corey Scogin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1087
  • Birmingham, AL, US
Re: Cat 6a vs Cat 5e - wiring a studio
« Reply #21 on: March 19, 2019, 02:20:27 pm »

This project isn't connecting a snake to a console.  It's about getting internet from my office to my studio.
My snake/console/drums/guitars is all in one room.  Was just thinking about running one or two audio lines in case I ever wanted to pull a guitar or vocal signal to my office.

I think most of us were under the impression that your office was your control room since you mentioned having an audio interface there.
Given the simple use case you describe, I would just pull spare CATx and use it for analog signals when needed. Jack plates on either end will make it quite flexible and clean when not in use.
Logged

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3131
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: Cat 6a vs Cat 5e - wiring a studio
« Reply #22 on: March 19, 2019, 02:49:33 pm »

Unless you are running a data center in the house, for a few simple flows of Dante between a couple of pairs of devices I donít think you need vlans. Keep it simple.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Jay Marr

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 546
Re: Cat 6a vs Cat 5e - wiring a studio
« Reply #23 on: March 19, 2019, 04:06:17 pm »

I think most of us were under the impression that your office was your control room since you mentioned having an audio interface there.
Given the simple use case you describe, I would just pull spare CATx and use it for analog signals when needed. Jack plates on either end will make it quite flexible and clean when not in use.

Got ya.  The audio interface in my office is a couple of channels.  Usually I use it for throwing some scratch guitar tracks using one of my Fractal devices...or DAW editing.
I think I'm settled on putting a pair of CAT6 cables and having them connected to Jack Plates in each room.

Thanks for the input.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.062 seconds with 24 queries.