ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: How cabinets are measured  (Read 7887 times)

lindsay Dean

• Classic LAB
Re: How cabinets are measured
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2019, 02:45:00 PM »

I can always tell when a non-musician/vocalist is running sound when he says "the monitors are not supposed to sound good just be loud"
wait?......😳....what?
"A mans got to know his limitations"
     and Pray for higher guidance

Luke Geis

• Owner of Endever Music Production's
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2019, 09:12:34 PM »

Except I am a musician and singer with 27 years experience playing in bands, et all.

Monitors can be made to sound good subjectively, but I contend that a singer that really wants A LOT will have one that doesn't sound good no matter what you do. The distortion and harmonics alone is one reason. The second is that by the time it's that loud, A LOT of stage wash from the mic will be in the speaker as well. Don't even get me started on intermodulation and its effects.

The number of tricks employed in order to make a stable monitor that gets up to a true 130db SPL is astronomical. Some of the tricks will make your head spin. The truth is, a truly loud monitor mix will not sound very good by most subjective measures. Now that isn't to say that you cannot have a loud and good sounding monitor mix, but when I say it is meant to be loud, not sound good, it is standing on the shoulders of an objective goal, not a subjective measure. A monitor mix that sounds like an angel resting its wings on your shoulders, that doesn't get loud enough, is a worthless monitor mix from an OBJECTIVE standpoint. A monitor that isn't raped to death by corrective and musical EQ, WILL be louder than one that is.