ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Al's Yamaha DXS12 MKII active subwoofer review  (Read 8692 times)

Al Poulin

Al's Yamaha DXS12 MKII active subwoofer review
« on: November 25, 2018, 01:06:56 AM »

Hey guys,

Haven't done a speaker review in a while, but got a chance to test the new (and improved) MKII versions of the DXS12s I've been using for many years. While I didn't notice a huge difference sound wise, the many added features (variable high-passed outputs, 7 lb weight loss, cardioid mode, locking IEC cords, available casters and covers, more durable finish) might make me upgrade to these in the very near future. I used the pair at a few events so far, and while you can't expect the deeper LF performance that more expensive 15s or 18s can provide, these 12'' active subs provide surprisingly competent performance in many situations and I've honestly never felt them lacking in any way for my (mostly) smaller events 100-250 people. So much better than 15s on sticks IMO. There's always the DXS18s if you play lots of bass heavy music for larger groups of course. For me, the DXS12s have always represented a terrific price to performance ratio - especially when considering the 7 year warranty... Next up to test : the DZR tops, if I can get my hands on some!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akFffwB3R8w&feature=youtu.be
Weaseling out of things is important to learn.  Its what separates us from the animals...except the weasel. - Homer Simpson

Scott Bolt

Re: Al's Yamaha DXS12 MKII active subwoofer review
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2018, 08:17:47 PM »

Hey guys,