ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Dante flow subscription status issue  (Read 1467 times)

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Reston, Virginia
Dante flow subscription status issue
« on: November 17, 2018, 11:00:04 am »

Running a Windows 10 laptop with DVS 4.0.4.4 and Controller 4.1.0.5, cabled directly (no switch) to Yamaha QL1 (Dante 4.0.8.2) using the primary interface.  Both using link local IP addresses (169.254.xxx.xxx on the same 255.255.255.0 subnet).  Both devices appear in Controller.  Laptop soundcard shows the correct DVS transmit channels selected.

QL1 never shows the laptop as a mounted device.  Not surprisingly, getting a result of 'Subscription status is: flow creation in progress...' in trying to route two channels from laptop to QL1. 

What am I doing wrong?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 11:23:40 am by Kirby Yarbrough »
Logged

Andrew Hollis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2018, 11:24:55 am »

If you've manually set a link local (APIPA) IP, you must use mask 255.255.0.0. 255.255.255.0 is not a valid mask for APIPA.

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2018, 11:36:56 am »

If you've manually set a link local (APIPA) IP, you must use mask 255.255.0.0. 255.255.255.0 is not a valid mask for APIPA.
Didn't set a manual link local, just used the IPv4 property of 'Obtain an IP address automatically' on the laptop. 
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20097
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2018, 12:11:24 pm »

Didn't set a manual link local, just used the IPv4 property of 'Obtain an IP address automatically' on the laptop.

I think Andrew is right.  Try changing the subnet mask and see it it works.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Aram Piligian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2018, 01:43:50 pm »

Do you have any other networks (including wifi) connected to the laptop?   Sometimes that can throw a wrench into things for no reason.

Logged

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2018, 01:55:03 pm »

Try changing the subnet mask and see it it works.

Checked subset mask on the ethernet port connection (set by IPv4 property to 'Obtain an IP address automatically') and it is 255.255.0.0.

This connection works fine on another laptop which is set up in exactly the same way, running the same versions of DVS and Controller and obtaining an IP address automatically).
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 03:19:49 pm by Kirby Yarbrough »
Logged

Ade Stuart

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2018, 05:40:40 pm »

Running a Windows 10 laptop with DVS 4.0.4.4 and Controller 4.1.0.5, cabled directly (no switch) to Yamaha QL1 (Dante 4.0.8.2) using the primary interface.  Both using link local IP addresses (169.254.xxx.xxx on the same 255.255.255.0 subnet).  Both devices appear in Controller.  Laptop soundcard shows the correct DVS transmit channels selected.

QL1 never shows the laptop as a mounted device.  Not surprisingly, getting a result of 'Subscription status is: flow creation in progress...' in trying to route two channels from laptop to QL1. 

What am I doing wrong?

Can you successfully patch in Dante controller?
What firmware is the QL1 running (Main and Dante)?
Try running temporarily with all firewalls and security turned off.
Logged

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2018, 01:58:09 pm »

Can you successfully patch in Dante controller?
What firmware is the QL1 running (Main and Dante)?
Try running temporarily with all firewalls and security turned off.

QL1 never shows the laptop as a mounted device, so patching in Controller is not successful, yields 'Subscription status is: flow creation in progress...' in trying to route two channels from laptop to QL1.

QL1 Dante versions 4.0.8.2, 4.0.3.7, 2.0.6.

Second laptop where this whole setup is successful has all firewalls and security left on.
Logged

Ed Spoto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2018, 11:34:57 am »

This is usually a firewall issue with your computer.

The standard firewalls that are installed with Windows and OS X are automatically configured by Dante software at installation.

However, if you are using a third-party firewall and/or need to manually enable ports and applications:

Dante Discovery
The Dante Discovery service (the service that automatically discovers Dante devices on the network) requires that the ‘Dante mDNSResponder’ application is allowed access through the firewall (this is a per-application rule, rather than a per-port rule).

Dante Control & Monitoring
Dante Control and Monitoring (ConMon) messages require that the following ports are open: 8700, 8702, 8703, 8705, 8800.

Dante Controller
Dante Controller uses port 8751, and also relies on Dante Discovery and ConMon.

Dante Virtual Soundcard
DVS uses ports 319, 320, 4321, 4440, 4444, 4455 and the range 14336 - 14600.

DVS also relies on Dante Discovery and ConMon.

Dante Firmware Update Manager
Firmware Update Manager uses ports 67, 69, and 6700, and relies on Dante Discovery and ConMon.
Logged

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2018, 04:40:55 pm »

This is usually a firewall issue with your computer.

Some progress: uninstalled and reinstalled DVS and Controller, and I can now patch to/from the laptop and the QL1.  BUT, the laptop still doesn't appear as a mounted device on the QL1, so I can't select a Dante channel to send or receive from the QL1.

Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6440
  • Audio Plumber
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2018, 04:56:36 pm »

Some progress: uninstalled and reinstalled DVS and Controller, and I can now patch to/from the laptop and the QL1.  BUT, the laptop still doesn't appear as a mounted device on the QL1, so I can't select a Dante channel to send or receive from the QL1.

Open up Dante Controller and patch it in Controller. You should have it online anyway to keep track of device status, network status, and latency anyway. Devices do not need to be mounted on the console to work.

Mac
Logged

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2018, 05:28:02 pm »

Open up Dante Controller and patch it in Controller.
Mac

I have it patched in Controller. The laptop's sound card shows DVS Transmit 1 -- 2 as the selected (and default) output device.  The issue is those channels appear as Dante nn / ???-??? on the QL1 (and the laptop doesn't appear as a Dante mounted device on the QL1).

With the other laptop, it does appear as a mounted device and those Dante channels can be selected on the QL1.
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6440
  • Audio Plumber
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2018, 06:01:31 pm »

I have it patched in Controller. The laptop's sound card shows DVS Transmit 1 -- 2 as the selected (and default) output device.  The issue is those channels appear as Dante nn / ???-??? on the QL1 (and the laptop doesn't appear as a Dante mounted device on the QL1).

With the other laptop, it does appear as a mounted device and those Dante channels can be selected on the QL1.
Does audio pass? What does Dante Controller say about device status, network status, and flows? Devices do not need to be mounted to work, and they do not need to appear with labels to work. Does anything appear different in Controller between the 2 laptops?

Mac
Logged

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2018, 08:44:51 pm »

Does audio pass? What does Dante Controller say about device status, network status, and flows? Devices do not need to be mounted to work, and they do not need to appear with labels to work. Does anything appear different in Controller between the 2 laptops?

Mac

Well I'll be dipped in _____.  Big thanks, Mac.  Audio does in fact pass.  Other than the laptop's IP addresses in the Device Info tab, the only other difference is that the Network Status tab shows no Subscription Status for the laptop with issues (the other laptop shows the green check for both the laptop and the QL1).  Looking at the patching in the receiving channels on the QL1, it still shows Dante nn '???-???'.  Still mystified why one laptop shows as a connected device in the QL1 but the other doesn't.
Logged

Miguel Dahl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 214
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2018, 12:52:35 pm »

Some progress: uninstalled and reinstalled DVS and Controller, and I can now patch to/from the laptop and the QL1.  BUT, the laptop still doesn't appear as a mounted device on the QL1, so I can't select a Dante channel to send or receive from the QL1.

This might be a stupid question, but have you actually mounted it in the QL1?
Logged

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2018, 02:45:00 pm »

This might be a stupid question, but have you actually mounted it in the QL1?

Bingo!  Thanks Miguel.  I mounted it manually using the device name in Controller and lo and behold there it is.  The correct transmit and receive channels are now identified in the Dante patching windows on the QL1.
Logged

Ade Stuart

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2018, 05:11:16 pm »

 ::)
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.06 seconds with 21 queries.