ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?  (Read 1149 times)

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 436
  • Reston, Virginia
Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« on: November 06, 2018, 05:05:24 pm »

Just acquired a Dante AVIO 2-ch analog output adaptor, and I can't get it to speak to me.  From what I've read, it's likely because it needs PoE, but the links I've found to enable PoE on the SG300/10 come back with some version of 'article not available'.  The SG300 specs say it will provide PoE.

Anyone know how this is done, or if I'm chasing the wrong solution altogether?
Logged

John L Nobile

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1564
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2018, 05:15:51 pm »

Just acquired a Dante AVIO 2-ch analog output adaptor, and I can't get it to speak to me.  From what I've read, it's likely because it needs PoE, but the links I've found to enable PoE on the SG300/10 come back with some version of 'article not available'.  The SG300 specs say it will provide PoE.

Anyone know how this is done, or if I'm chasing the wrong solution altogether?

Depends on which one you have. I have a bunch of 8 port ones that don't. Check out this list
https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/switches/small-business-300-series-managed-switches/models-comparison.html

Single channel POE injectors are cheap.
Logged

Caleb Dueck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 813
    • Amplio Systems
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2018, 06:43:57 pm »

Yamaha has a great article about how to configure an SG300 for Dante.

SG300-10 doesn't have PoE, while the SG300-10PP does. 

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Amplio Systems

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 436
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2018, 08:37:34 pm »

SG300-10 doesn't have PoE, while the SG300-10PP does. 

Yeah, finally found that answer.  Oh well, in the market for a PoE injector.
Logged

Bryan Hargrave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • I'm one jammin' dude.
    • Soundworks of VA, Inc
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2018, 01:02:08 pm »

Just make sure its 48v and not 24v. I have a ton of Ubiquiti Edge POE switches and a few of the injectors for their APs. They just don't kick out the juice to power the Audinate stuff... or most non-Ubiquiti stuff.

You should be able to find something on Amazon for 15-20 bucks. The TP Link TL-POE150S will work just fine. If you plan to expand to more of the AVIO units I would suggest getting a switch to power them instead. Having multiple injectors and their wall warts gets messy fast. I have a Netgear Prosafe GS110TP that powers 2 AVIO, an AP and another switch. I got it refurbed for just under 100 bucks.

Yeah, finally found that answer.  Oh well, in the market for a PoE injector.
Logged
Like us on facebook at Soundworks of VA, Inc.

Russell Ault

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Edmonton, AB
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2018, 02:37:02 pm »

Just make sure its 48v and not 24v. I have a ton of Ubiquiti Edge POE switches and a few of the injectors for their APs. They just don't kick out the juice to power the Audinate stuff... or most non-Ubiquiti stuff.

Not sure about the switches, but aren't the Ubiquiti injectors explicitly proprietary (like, in a "might let the magic smoke out if you plug them into a non-Ubiquiti device" kind of way)?

-Russ
Logged

Bryan Hargrave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • I'm one jammin' dude.
    • Soundworks of VA, Inc
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2018, 03:47:23 pm »

That could be, I don't really know. But the marked output on the hardware says 24v which is pretty suggestive that the biggest issue is just that there isn't enough voltage to power the AVIO which requires 48v.

Not sure about the switches, but aren't the Ubiquiti injectors explicitly proprietary (like, in a "might let the magic smoke out if you plug them into a non-Ubiquiti device" kind of way)?

-Russ
Logged
Like us on facebook at Soundworks of VA, Inc.

William Schnake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 485
    • Schnake Sound & Light
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2018, 04:45:34 pm »

Not sure about the switches, but aren't the Ubiquiti injectors explicitly proprietary (like, in a "might let the magic smoke out if you plug them into a non-Ubiquiti device" kind of way)?

-Russ

This is just a thought, but we have been using Ubiquiti for several years and the easiest way to do it is to use PoE.  If it were me, I would get a PoE supported switch.

Bill
Logged
Bill Schnake - Owner Schnake Sound & Light

Avid/Crown/EAW/EV/Midas/RCF/Shure/Yamaha

schnakesound.com

Samuel Sjöbergsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2018, 12:52:28 am »

That could be, I don't really know. But the marked output on the hardware says 24v which is pretty suggestive that the biggest issue is just that there isn't enough voltage to power the AVIO which requires 48v.
But the difference isn't only the voltage ubiquiti own 24v is passive which means it always 24v while the standard 48v is active and only have power if the receiver wants POE. That said I don't know about the edge-switches but the bigger unifi switches with POE has support for both standard 48V and thir own 24V but to use 24V you need to activate it on that port.
Logged

Doug McFadzen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2018, 10:18:54 am »

Make sure that your PoE injector is Class 1 802.3af PoE per the manufacturers specification.

https://www.audinate.com/products/devices/dante-avio#analoginput
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.059 seconds with 23 queries.