ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Vocal not coming through stage monitors  (Read 989 times)

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Central Kentucky
Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« on: November 05, 2018, 11:52:10 am »

Good afternoon, everyone.  Thank you in advance for your help. 

I have one mic on stage that is not coming through the stage monitors.  Everything else on stage is coming through just fine.  Except this one mic.  It is our B3 player.  His mic is running through a Hotshot for talk-back to the band.  That works fine.  The band members can hear him fine in their ears.  Likewise, his vocal is coming through the mains just fine (he sometimes leads a song or two).  However, when we turn his vocal up in Mix 1 (stage monitors), nothing happens.  No matter what, his vocal wonít come through those stage monitors.

I am stumped to be honest.  How can it be coming through the Hotshot and the mains just fine, and not the monitors?  I need some direction, please.  Not asking for hand-out.  Just help me get on the right track to figure this out.
QU32 mixer

EV ZLX Passive stage monitors
Dynacord power amp for monitors
Logged

Scott Harris

  • Subwoofer forum
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 244
  • Worcester, MA
    • Running Sound
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2018, 12:19:02 pm »

What is your mixer?  It sounds like it's not being sent to the mix1 bus.
Logged

Laurence Nefzger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2018, 12:22:21 pm »


I am stumped to be honest.  How can it be coming through the Hotshot and the mains just fine, and not the monitors?  I need some direction, please.  Not asking for hand-out.  Just help me get on the right track to figure this out.
QU32 mixer

EV ZLX Passive stage monitors
Dynacord power amp for monitors
[/quote]
Sounds like that mic is muted at the aux send. It is possible to mute sends to auxes without having it muted in the main L&R.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19239
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2018, 12:40:37 pm »

What changed?  I presume this worked at one time.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Central Kentucky
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2018, 01:05:55 pm »

What changed?  I presume this worked at one time.

That's one of the questions I asked, Tim.  One of the singers that uses those stage monitors said "well, we've always had a hard time hearing him.  And when we've asked FOH to turn him up, we just assumed it was getting turned up." 

To which I responded, "like a placebo affect, where you think it's louder, but it's really not?".  And he agreed.

We've only had our new system for a year now.  So we are still having small issues like this from time to time. 
Logged

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Central Kentucky
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2018, 01:06:52 pm »


Sounds like that mic is muted at the aux send. It is possible to mute sends to auxes without having it muted in the main L&R.

Hmmm..interesting.  I'll have to look at that.
Logged

Kemper Watson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 420
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2018, 05:51:02 pm »

Hmmm..interesting.  I'll have to look at that.

On the left side of the console there are two buttons labeled prefade and Assign. Bring up his mix and hit that assign button. If his channel doesn't light up hit the green button on his channel  to assign it to the proper mix.
Logged

Bradford "BJ" James

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 285
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2018, 08:44:02 pm »

On the left side of the console there are two buttons labeled prefade and Assign. Bring up his mix and hit that assign button. If his channel doesn't light up hit the green button on his channel  to assign it to the proper mix.
I also have a feeling this is the case. Before you DO assign that channel, be sure to pull the fader down on that mix in case itís been raised to the point where it could feedback when you do engage it. That should be a given anyways, but just in case.
Logged
Proud Canadian dealer for Danley Sound Labs, A&H, Yamaha, QSC, Yorkville and more.

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Central Kentucky
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2018, 10:47:25 pm »

On the left side of the console there are two buttons labeled prefade and Assign. Bring up his mix and hit that assign button. If his channel doesn't light up hit the green button on his channel  to assign it to the proper mix.

This is exactly what it was. Itís fixed now.  Thank you so much!! I did not realize I could decide what gets sent to the aux. I learned something.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Central Kentucky
Re: Vocal not coming through stage monitors
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2018, 10:48:10 pm »

I also have a feeling this is the case. Before you DO assign that channel, be sure to pull the fader down on that mix in case itís been raised to the point where it could feedback when you do engage it. That should be a given anyways, but just in case.

Iím glad you said that. I did turn it down before engaging it. Thanks for the pro tip.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.053 seconds with 21 queries.