ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Network cable for audio  (Read 17539 times)

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 20523
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #40 on: November 19, 2018, 01:38:21 pm »

Really? Behringer didn't connect the ground pin, or didn't use grounding RJ45 jacks? Huh.

You must be new here.  This has been documented extensively.  Whatever Behringer did with the AES50 ports on those models requires ground continuity between Ethercon shells in addition to shielded RJ45.  No other Midas or K-T products seem to have this absolute need.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Dan Mortensen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #41 on: November 20, 2018, 09:43:27 am »

No other Midas or K-T products seem to have this absolute need.

This isn't quite true. Zapping a Midas Pro 3 (at least) with either UTP or without Ethercons gives the same signal interruption as an X32 gets, but not quite as easily, meaning it takes a few more zaps to get the undesired effect. For perhaps that reason, there have been minimal to no reported complaints about it with Midas.
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1591
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #42 on: November 20, 2018, 01:10:30 pm »

Direct from Behringer/Midas
In order to ensure trouble-free operation when connecting X32 consoles to other X32 mixers or to S16 stage boxes, the following specifications should be met when choosing your cables:

Shielded Cat-5e cables only
Ethercon terminated cable ends
Maximum cable length 100 meters (300 feet )

Link?
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Nick Falbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #44 on: November 23, 2018, 10:13:48 pm »

Source this paragraph's info, please.

Direct from the Music Tribe wiki https://behringerwiki.musictribe.com/index.php?title=X32_RACK%3A_AES50_cabling_requirements

Also here is some information on the differneces between cat5e and cat6+
https://www.multicominc.com/training/technical-resources/cat5-vs-cat6-cable/
https://customcable.ca/cat5-vs-cat6/
Direct quote "While Cat5e cable features 1.5-2 twists per cm, Cat6 cables are more tightly wound and feature 2 or more twists per cm. (The amount of twists per cm varies upon each cable manufacturer)."
https://planetechusa.com/blog/ethernet-different-ethernet-categories-cat3-vs-cat5e-vs-cat6-vs-cat6a-vs-cat7-vs-cat8/

Some cat6 cables with a lower twist rate (2 twists per cm) should work fine, but others with a higher twist rate will not. This is not a problem in ethernet networks because of the way ethernet works, but AES50 only uses the physical layer (OSI-layer 1) which is the connections, but everything else is different, so it can not be held to the same standards that ethernet based networking (hence why you can't use ethernet switches and other network gear on an AES50 network) is which is where most people make their mistakes.

http://www.hedd.audio/en/aes50-open-audio-ethernet-protocol/

AES50 is frame based and not packet based as ethernet is which is why you can not expect the same outcome using basic networking ideology
http://www.aes-media.org/sections/uk/Conf2011/Presentation_PDFs/07%20-%20Al%20Walker%20-%20Applications%20in%20Live%20Convert%20Sound.pdf

Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1591
    • Check Check One Two
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Nick Falbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #46 on: November 28, 2018, 11:41:26 pm »

Is the WIKI written by Music Group/Tribe/Gang?

Yes, it is their part of their official site.

You can get to it through https://www.musictribe.com/brand/c/Behringer/downloads
Select mixers in category, digital in sub category, X32 in product, documentation in type, then wiki in sub type and it brings up that wiki. On the left hand side you can select the product and find the AES50 cable requirements. I am not sure why they don't make it easier to find out this information. It is also listed in the X32 manual under AES50 Requirements. It is a bit hard to find and some people have had problems with ESD (electro static discahrge) from not using cables that are up to spec. Many people have also fried the AES50 ports by using non spec cables or cables without EtherCon ends due to ESD. The problem is behringer/midas cut corners to bring us the console in the price range it is. The midas pro series does not have these same issues but they are at a much higher price point so in this case you really do get what you pay for.
Logged

Caleb Dueck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1010
Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #47 on: November 29, 2018, 12:03:20 am »

I wouldn't call the Pro series drama-free when it comes to cables.  That's one of their weaknesses, the AES50 protocol, and how it's implemented in the Pro series. 

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Luke Geis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1896
    • Owner of Endever Music Production's
Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #48 on: November 29, 2018, 12:33:49 am »

I have been using the GLS Audio Ethercon cables with 0 issues. It is a cat6 and somewhat tactical. It is made with solid core wires, has the twisted pair separator in it, a rugged jacket, is grounded and has removable ends so you can connect it to non-ethercon devices. The price is good too. I wouldn't say it is tour grade, but it is certainly more than good enough for your typical GS, local festivals and corporate needs. I am perhaps spoiled, but I am the only guy in my area with this type of cable and others that have used it are impressed. Most everyone else around me is just using bulk shielded cat5e that they terminate and it is always bright blue or white and you can't lay it flat and straight to save your life. This cables can be laid flat and straight, it just doesn't do tight bends very well.

https://www.glsaudio.com/GLS-Audio-150-Feet-etherCON-Compatible-RJ45-CAT6-G-Shell-G45-Cable_p_1894.html
Logged
I don't understand how you can't hear yourself

Dan Richardson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 607
  • southern Vermont
    • NotTooLoud
Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #49 on: November 29, 2018, 09:22:13 am »

I have been using the GLS Audio Ethercon cables with 0 issues.

With what mixer? I use them all day with my A&H mixers, but that's the Converta-Shell connector referenced several points above as a no-go with the o.p.'s Behringer gear.

As for 0 issues, I had one fail a few months in. Bad crimp in a connector. Replace the RJ45 and all good again.
Logged
The best sound system is no sound system. Everything else is compromise.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Network cable for audio
« Reply #49 on: November 29, 2018, 09:22:13 am »


Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.075 seconds with 24 queries.