ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters  (Read 1429 times)

Greg Branson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« on: October 11, 2018, 10:55:01 am »

I am trying to convert HDMI from a laptop (1280 X 720) to HD-SDI. I have tried both an AJA HA5 and a Blackmagic Design HDMI to SDI Mini Converter to no avail. I am considering getting a Kramer FC-113. Any suggestions?
Logged

Ray Aberle

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3413
  • Located in Vancouver, WA (and serves OR-WA-ID-BC)
    • Kelcema Audio
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2018, 11:13:46 am »

I am trying to convert HDMI from a laptop (1280 X 720) to HD-SDI. I have tried both an AJA HA5 and a Blackmagic Design HDMI to SDI Mini Converter to no avail. I am considering getting a Kramer FC-113. Any suggestions?

Greg, what problem(s) are you encountering when using the AJA or the BMD products?

-Ray
Logged
Kelcema Audio
Regional - Serving Pacific Northwest (OR, WA, ID, BC)

Caleb Dueck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 865
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2018, 11:53:06 am »

If it's an HDCP issue - none of them will work.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Stephen Beatty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2018, 02:02:31 pm »

If you are using a Mac you'll have issues with the basic desktop out of the digital ports because the desktop is "protected" by HDCP.
We get around this with systems like Polycom by using an VGA adapter from the Mac. Extron now has a box that will strip the HDCP from the Mac's to get around this for HDMI out. Also SDI video does not do HDCP.
Logged

Ray Aberle

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3413
  • Located in Vancouver, WA (and serves OR-WA-ID-BC)
    • Kelcema Audio
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2018, 02:26:07 pm »

HDCP was definitely in my mind, but without knowing why the OP stated "to no avail," it's hard to suggest what things the OP needs to do or buy to make his setup work...
Logged
Kelcema Audio
Regional - Serving Pacific Northwest (OR, WA, ID, BC)

Greg Branson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2018, 02:37:58 pm »

Greg, what problem(s) are you encountering when using the AJA or the BMD products?

-Ray

I get no signal or sometimes a signal that will not sync.
Logged

Stephen Beatty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2018, 04:13:22 pm »

What brand and model is your laptop? A standalone HDMI port or do you adapt from mini-display port or USB-c? What equipment are you trying to feed the SDI signal into. What cabling are you using for SDI send?
Can you even get a image out of your laptop?
Logged

Milt Hathaway

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2164
    • http://www.fitzcosound.com
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2018, 04:17:12 pm »

If you are using a Mac you'll have issues with the basic desktop out of the digital ports because the desktop is "protected" by HDCP.
We get around this with systems like Polycom by using an VGA adapter from the Mac. Extron now has a box that will strip the HDCP from the Mac's to get around this for HDMI out. Also SDI video does not do HDCP.

The Mac output is only "protected by HDCP" when playing HDCP protected content AND/OR when the item it is connected to has HDCP compatibility active. I've had no problem feeding unprotected video content into DAC-70s and various switchers.
Logged
--
Milt
FitzCo Sound, Inc.
Midland, TX
http://www.fitzcosound.com

Stephen Beatty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2018, 04:22:18 pm »

Yeah. It only raises it's nasty head when your trying to live stream or lecture/capture. They work fine just connected to the AV systems to do PowerPoint, Youtube and stuff on a HDCP compliant TV or projector. All the systems we have on campus are HDCP compliant. While I have worked with it I don't do video production at work so SDI is not in our systems
Logged

Greg Branson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2018, 04:31:34 pm »

What brand and model is your laptop? A standalone HDMI port or do you adapt from mini-display port or USB-c? What equipment are you trying to feed the SDI signal into. What cabling are you using for SDI send?
Can you even get a image out of your laptop?

Tried different laptops. One is an HP with a standard HDMI connector. Another is a Lenovo ThinkPad with a Mini HDMI connector through an adapter.

Have tried to send to two different SDI inputs. One is to a Vaddio ProductionView switcher. Another is to a Blackmagic Design H.264 Pro Recorder.
Logged

Stephen Beatty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2018, 05:13:02 pm »

Yeah. Something is wonky. Tried different cables? Anything else you can get a straight SDI out to test the signal path? Tried different resolutions?

 We do this where we give a straight HDMI out and one particular live stream crew uses I believe a Black Magic HDMI to SDI converter to get into their switcher. Never had an issue and we see all brands of laptops.
Logged

Greg Branson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2018, 05:35:25 pm »

Yeah. Something is wonky. Tried different cables? Anything else you can get a straight SDI out to test the signal path? Tried different resolutions?

 We do this where we give a straight HDMI out and one particular live stream crew uses I believe a Black Magic HDMI to SDI converter to get into their switcher. Never had an issue and we see all brands of laptops.

Yes, I've tried all types of different cables. Thanks for your input.
Logged

Milt Hathaway

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2164
    • http://www.fitzcosound.com
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2018, 05:54:18 pm »

Yeah. It only raises it's nasty head when your trying to live stream or lecture/capture. They work fine just connected to the AV systems to do PowerPoint, Youtube and stuff on a HDCP compliant TV or projector. All the systems we have on campus are HDCP compliant. While I have worked with it I don't do video production at work so SDI is not in our systems

Odd, I can do Mac HDMI>SDI>whatever all day long with no problem.
Logged
--
Milt
FitzCo Sound, Inc.
Midland, TX
http://www.fitzcosound.com

Caleb Dueck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 865
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2018, 05:59:19 pm »

Decimator MD-HX. 
Although it sounds like a different issue. 

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Jordan Wolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2018, 07:27:29 pm »

Maybe I missed it, but what device are you attempting to feed with this signal? Is it a display, DA, switcher?

Specific make & model would be helpful.
Logged
--Airport Circle Sound Reinforcement, LLC--

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2018, 12:34:41 am »

I am trying to convert HDMI from a laptop (1280 X 720) to HD-SDI. I have tried both an AJA HA5 and a Blackmagic Design HDMI to SDI Mini Converter to no avail. I am considering getting a Kramer FC-113. Any suggestions?

Get a decimator md-hx and run your signal through the DUC onboard.
Logged

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3160
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2018, 12:55:34 am »

I ended up using a cheap HDCP stripper and then all was well.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Luke Geis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1708
    • Owner of Endever Music Production's
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #17 on: October 12, 2018, 06:33:59 pm »

HDCP every time.
Logged
I don't understand how you can't hear your self

Tom Bourke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1564
    • http://www.cwalv.com
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2018, 07:25:04 pm »

HDCP every time.
I really hate HDCP problems.  Even if everything you have is "compliant" it STILL may block you.  Getting consumer devices to display on a pro video rig that is using SDI is a real PITA.
Logged
I have a mild form of Dyslexia that affects my ability to spell.  I do use spell checking to help but it does not always work.  My form of Dyslexia does not affect my reading.  Dyslexics of the world untie! <a href="http://www.cwalv.com" target="_blank">http://www.cwalv.com</a>

Luke Geis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1708
    • Owner of Endever Music Production's
Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
« Reply #19 on: October 12, 2018, 07:58:48 pm »

I had a gig once where there was a client supplied MAC computer. We set up the speakers for audio, a screen, and a projector. Went to test the video and all we got was the sound. As soon as he went to play the video the screen would go black. Needless to say, they had to find another copy of the movie they wanted in order to play it.

HDCP is the most common video issue if you can't acquire an image.
Logged
I don't understand how you can't hear your self
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.079 seconds with 21 queries.