ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable  (Read 1328 times)

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5035
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2018, 06:30:30 pm »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.

I still need to cover an IEC mains cable from outlet to amplifier and I'm trying to find a solution for that issue. The IEC plug eon't fit down 3/4" conduit and I can't seal the end to keep stuff out.

Also can't seem to find cable ends to build my own out of the MC cable.

https://www.alliedelec.com/schurter-4782-0100/70080654/

Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 593
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2018, 01:49:28 am »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.

I still need to cover an IEC mains cable from outlet to amplifier and I'm trying to find a solution for that issue. The IEC plug eon't fit down 3/4" conduit and I can't seal the end to keep stuff out.

Also can't seem to find cable ends to build my own out of the MC cable.

If you’re fine with the cable being outside other than the rats then it really shouldn’t matter if stuff gets in it.  For the IEC cable not fitting just chop off the Edison plug end and replace that after fishing through your armor of choice.  Leave the molded IEC alone.
Logged

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 414
    • Bad Quail
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2018, 03:53:59 am »

How'd you find that? Been looking for a couple days.

https://www.alliedelec.com/schurter-4782-0100/70080654/

Doh, I forgot cables have two ends.

If you’re fine with the cable being outside other than the rats then it really shouldn’t matter if stuff gets in it.  For the IEC cable not fitting just chop off the Edison plug end and replace that after fishing through your armor of choice.  Leave the molded IEC alone.
Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2930
  • Toronto
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2018, 07:08:32 am »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.


I didn't know what MC stood for. I know it as BX.
As suggested, plastic conduit may be the most cost effective solution.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 414
    • Bad Quail
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2018, 08:56:52 pm »

Similar but different, I guess. . .

http://www.ncwhomeinspections.com/BX+Cables+on+exterior+installations

Now that Scott found the magical missing piece for me I can just make up what I wanted.

I didn't know what MC stood for. I know it as BX.
As suggested, plastic conduit may be the most cost effective solution.
Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5035
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #15 on: September 26, 2018, 10:37:24 pm »

Similar but different, I guess. . .

http://www.ncwhomeinspections.com/BX+Cables+on+exterior+installations

Now that Scott found the magical missing piece for me I can just make up what I wanted.

Cool, those are real useful for making all sorts of custom cables.  If they made lockers my life would be complete
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2993
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2018, 11:33:37 pm »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.

I still need to cover an IEC mains cable from outlet to amplifier and I'm trying to find a solution for that issue. The IEC plug eon't fit down 3/4" conduit and I can't seal the end to keep stuff out.

Also can't seem to find cable ends to build my own out of the MC cable.

I had some 2” pvc from my house out to the street for the cable company. I sealed up the end with an end cap that I drilled for the wire and cut a slot from the hole to one side. I slid it over the wire, then on to the pipe coming out of the ground and used duct seal for the slot.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 414
    • Bad Quail
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2018, 02:37:38 pm »

So, after searching for requirable IEC plugs for two days and not finding anything, I put "IEC Plug Lock" into google and this comes up first shot:

https://www.amazon.com/Rewireable-IEC320-C13-Accidental-Unplugging-Disconnections/dp/B01DCFVXKK

I was going to refer you to another product that I can't find now. Someone makes a clip that thread onto the panel mount receptacle mounting screws. Here's one you can retrofit. There's another that clips all the way over the IEC cable end and there's one for NEMA 5-15 as well.

http://www.interpower.com/ic/designers/in-depth-product-line-information/More-information-on-Connector-Locks.html 

Cool, those are real useful for making all sorts of custom cables.  If they made lockers my life would be complete
Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5035
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2018, 04:11:51 pm »

So, after searching for requirable IEC plugs for two days and not finding anything, I put "IEC Plug Lock" into google and this comes up first shot:

https://www.amazon.com/Rewireable-IEC320-C13-Accidental-Unplugging-Disconnections/dp/B01DCFVXKK

I was going to refer you to another product that I can't find now. Someone makes a clip that thread onto the panel mount receptacle mounting screws. Here's one you can retrofit. There's another that clips all the way over the IEC cable end and there's one for NEMA 5-15 as well.

http://www.interpower.com/ic/designers/in-depth-product-line-information/More-information-on-Connector-Locks.html

Indeed I am aware of those but these need to be compatible with the locking IEC's on our QSC boxes.

Very specific requirement. 
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Jonathan Johnson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2916
  • Southwest Washington (state, not DC)
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2018, 04:35:18 pm »

The price is a little “out there” but a search for “armored extension cord” returned this...

100' 1/3 HLMC Armored Metal Clad Extension Cord - 250V - 3100 Plug and Connector https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074F3FGJP/
Logged
Stop confusing the issue with facts and logic!
Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.046 seconds with 24 queries.