ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable  (Read 952 times)

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
    • Bad Quail
Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« on: September 25, 2018, 03:27:16 am »

Putting in a sound system outdoors in the desert. Rats or some other desert critter have already gotten in and eaten the insulation off clients appliances in outdoor kitchen.

Using MC for speaker wire, but need to cover some signal cables and an IEC power cable.

Stainless steel tech flex is $4/ft. . .

Anyone have a better chew proof solution?

Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Will Knight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2018, 06:57:51 am »

Consider 1/4” or 1/2” PVC Tubing Or AFC Liquidtight conduit from your local big box store.  Weather and critter resistant, easy installation and if necessary, can be buried underground (check local code) to remove “unsightly lines”


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2893
  • Toronto
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2018, 07:33:02 am »

Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2018, 07:40:15 am »

Putting in a sound system outdoors in the desert. Rats or some other desert critter have already gotten in and eaten the insulation off clients appliances in outdoor kitchen.

Using MC for speaker wire, but need to cover some signal cables and an IEC power cable.

Stainless steel tech flex is $4/ft. . .

Anyone have a better chew proof solution?

You could try flexible metal conduit.  1/2” or 3/4”.  I’ve always heard that rats can chew through steel pipe so any solution may be temporary at best.
Logged

John Roberts {JR}

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16089
  • Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2018, 09:25:36 am »

get a cat....? I have killed 5 squirrels so far this year (they eat my pecans).

JR
Logged
On the internet people tell you everything "they" know, not the answer to "your" question.....  http://circularscience.com/

Will Knight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2018, 09:41:37 am »

Need to learn how you trained them My cats ignore the squirrels.....as well as the raccoons.... possums...and almost everything else that’s not food related. Guess that’s what happens with “City” cats.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

John Roberts {JR}

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16089
  • Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2018, 10:14:52 am »

Need to learn how you trained them My cats ignore the squirrels.....as well as the raccoons.... possums...and almost everything else that’s not food related. Guess that’s what happens with “City” cats.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No, I killed the squirrels with my 0.177 pellet rifle (GAMO). My neighbor has at least a half dozen cats and one or two are hunters. I see them lurking around. According to my neighbor they take down the occasional squirrel but my 5 dead squirrels were killed the old fashioned way.

Be careful about using rat poison, the rats tend to crawl up into hard to reach spaces to die, and continue to be pests long after they die. Dead squirrels smell bad too, fairly quickly.

While not all cats are hunters, I've seen them "play" with mice until they died. :o

JR
Logged
On the internet people tell you everything "they" know, not the answer to "your" question.....  http://circularscience.com/

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1200
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2018, 11:55:44 am »

My local squirrels torment my cat by playing chicken.
They climb down a tree nearby and taunt the cat to try and catch them.
Total cat frustration.
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.
Inventor.

Frank Koenig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 525
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2018, 01:54:10 pm »

Rats or some other desert critter have already gotten in and eaten the insulation off clients appliances in outdoor kitchen.

PVC pipe or conduit is likely the least expensive solution. I've had considerable experience with critters large and small eating, or at least tasting, all sorts of human-made improvements at the Sierra Foothills place, but so far they have left the PVC pipe alone. Do not use polyethylene tubing. Some flavors are very attractive to the beasts. Good luck. --Frank
Logged
Yes, it is a giant stereo system!

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
    • Bad Quail
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2018, 05:14:02 pm »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.

I still need to cover an IEC mains cable from outlet to amplifier and I'm trying to find a solution for that issue. The IEC plug eon't fit down 3/4" conduit and I can't seal the end to keep stuff out.

Also can't seem to find cable ends to build my own out of the MC cable.

This might work, unless the critters have a "rat tail " file  ;D

https://www.homedepot.com/p/AFC-Cable-Systems-12-2-x-250-ft-BX-AC-90-Solid-Cable-1404N42-AFC/205070960
Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4959
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2018, 06:30:30 pm »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.

I still need to cover an IEC mains cable from outlet to amplifier and I'm trying to find a solution for that issue. The IEC plug eon't fit down 3/4" conduit and I can't seal the end to keep stuff out.

Also can't seem to find cable ends to build my own out of the MC cable.

https://www.alliedelec.com/schurter-4782-0100/70080654/

Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2018, 01:49:28 am »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.

I still need to cover an IEC mains cable from outlet to amplifier and I'm trying to find a solution for that issue. The IEC plug eon't fit down 3/4" conduit and I can't seal the end to keep stuff out.

Also can't seem to find cable ends to build my own out of the MC cable.

If you’re fine with the cable being outside other than the rats then it really shouldn’t matter if stuff gets in it.  For the IEC cable not fitting just chop off the Edison plug end and replace that after fishing through your armor of choice.  Leave the molded IEC alone.
Logged

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
    • Bad Quail
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2018, 03:53:59 am »

How'd you find that? Been looking for a couple days.

https://www.alliedelec.com/schurter-4782-0100/70080654/

Doh, I forgot cables have two ends.

If you’re fine with the cable being outside other than the rats then it really shouldn’t matter if stuff gets in it.  For the IEC cable not fitting just chop off the Edison plug end and replace that after fishing through your armor of choice.  Leave the molded IEC alone.
Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2893
  • Toronto
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2018, 07:08:32 am »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.


I didn't know what MC stood for. I know it as BX.
As suggested, plastic conduit may be the most cost effective solution.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
    • Bad Quail
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2018, 08:56:52 pm »

Similar but different, I guess. . .

http://www.ncwhomeinspections.com/BX+Cables+on+exterior+installations

Now that Scott found the magical missing piece for me I can just make up what I wanted.

I didn't know what MC stood for. I know it as BX.
As suggested, plastic conduit may be the most cost effective solution.
Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4959
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #15 on: September 26, 2018, 10:37:24 pm »

Similar but different, I guess. . .

http://www.ncwhomeinspections.com/BX+Cables+on+exterior+installations

Now that Scott found the magical missing piece for me I can just make up what I wanted.

Cool, those are real useful for making all sorts of custom cables.  If they made lockers my life would be complete
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2018, 11:33:37 pm »

Yes, this is what I'm using for speaker hook up.

I still need to cover an IEC mains cable from outlet to amplifier and I'm trying to find a solution for that issue. The IEC plug eon't fit down 3/4" conduit and I can't seal the end to keep stuff out.

Also can't seem to find cable ends to build my own out of the MC cable.

I had some 2” pvc from my house out to the street for the cable company. I sealed up the end with an end cap that I drilled for the wire and cut a slot from the hole to one side. I slid it over the wire, then on to the pipe coming out of the ground and used duct seal for the slot.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
    • Bad Quail
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2018, 02:37:38 pm »

So, after searching for requirable IEC plugs for two days and not finding anything, I put "IEC Plug Lock" into google and this comes up first shot:

https://www.amazon.com/Rewireable-IEC320-C13-Accidental-Unplugging-Disconnections/dp/B01DCFVXKK

I was going to refer you to another product that I can't find now. Someone makes a clip that thread onto the panel mount receptacle mounting screws. Here's one you can retrofit. There's another that clips all the way over the IEC cable end and there's one for NEMA 5-15 as well.

http://www.interpower.com/ic/designers/in-depth-product-line-information/More-information-on-Connector-Locks.html 

Cool, those are real useful for making all sorts of custom cables.  If they made lockers my life would be complete
Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4959
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2018, 04:11:51 pm »

So, after searching for requirable IEC plugs for two days and not finding anything, I put "IEC Plug Lock" into google and this comes up first shot:

https://www.amazon.com/Rewireable-IEC320-C13-Accidental-Unplugging-Disconnections/dp/B01DCFVXKK

I was going to refer you to another product that I can't find now. Someone makes a clip that thread onto the panel mount receptacle mounting screws. Here's one you can retrofit. There's another that clips all the way over the IEC cable end and there's one for NEMA 5-15 as well.

http://www.interpower.com/ic/designers/in-depth-product-line-information/More-information-on-Connector-Locks.html

Indeed I am aware of those but these need to be compatible with the locking IEC's on our QSC boxes.

Very specific requirement. 
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman
River Delta Audio is now:

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Jonathan Johnson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2876
  • Southwest Washington (state, not DC)
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2018, 04:35:18 pm »

The price is a little “out there” but a search for “armored extension cord” returned this...

100' 1/3 HLMC Armored Metal Clad Extension Cord - 250V - 3100 Plug and Connector https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074F3FGJP/
Logged
Stop confusing the issue with facts and logic!

Tim Hite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
    • Bad Quail
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2018, 06:53:22 pm »

Definitely a tad long for the 2' run I need to make. Also, I think I can get it cheaper elsewhere. Good to know it exists, tho.

The price is a little “out there” but a search for “armored extension cord” returned this...

100' 1/3 HLMC Armored Metal Clad Extension Cord - 250V - 3100 Plug and Connector https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074F3FGJP/
Logged
Bad Quail
Sound + Light
Joshua Tree, California

Len Zenith Jr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 291
Re: Rats! Need an armored AC mains cable
« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2018, 10:43:27 pm »

Definitely a tad long for the 2' run I need to make. Also, I think I can get it cheaper elsewhere. Good to know it exists, tho.

For that length just go with the stainless techflex. $2.70/foot here for 1/2". You would need 1 custom end (mains or IEC) to get it on the cable and a bit of heat shrink to hold it on the ends. Easiest and nicest looking way to do it.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.06 seconds with 21 queries.