ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?  (Read 3470 times)

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1234
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2019, 09:52:58 pm »

Eight port SG300s are under $150.  How much cheaper do you need to be to replace a $5000 analog snake?

Bryan Hargrave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • I'm one jammin' dude.
    • Soundworks of VA, Inc
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #21 on: January 16, 2019, 11:38:43 am »

I believe the 300 is no longer in production. That may be why the price is higher than the 350. Demand without knowing that the 350 is the newer version? I have both and will be only buying 350 models in the future. 126 bucks on Amazon. Can't really beat that for a switch that feature rich.

Looking into getting some new switches. I've understood that the SG300 is/was somewhat of a "reference" Dante switch (Audinate use them as examples).

Is the 350 a safe bet? They are way cheaper than the 300's.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2019, 11:43:30 am by Bryan Hargrave »
Logged
Like us on facebook at Soundworks of VA, Inc.

Miguel Dahl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2019, 07:38:20 pm »

Eight port SG300s are under $150.  How much cheaper do you need to be to replace a $5000 analog snake?

You misunderstood me. I was asking if the 350 is a safe bet even if it is cheaper than the 300, if it is lacking something.. But I see it is a solid switch. Not asking for the cheapest option.

Logged

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Washington, D.C.
Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2019, 02:39:58 pm »

Does anyone have a good understanding of the difference between the SG350-10P and Cisco SG350-10MP models? On the comparison on the website, the only difference I see so far is that the latter offers more total PoE wattage.

I also see they have external power supplies. Does anyone have any thoughts on using switches with external power supplies in mobile setups? Iíve always stuck with ones with internal power supplies, which arenít common in small and light switches, for fear of the external ones being easier to unplug and more difficult to manage the bricks in racks and etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: January 20, 2019, 02:42:21 pm by Samuel Rees »
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1489
    • Sturz Audio
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #24 on: January 20, 2019, 04:02:29 pm »

Does anyone have a good understanding of the difference between the SG350-10P and Cisco SG350-10MP models? On the comparison on the website, the only difference I see so far is that the latter offers more total PoE wattage.

I also see they have external power supplies. Does anyone have any thoughts on using switches with external power supplies in mobile setups? Iíve always stuck with ones with internal power supplies, which arenít common in small and light switches, for fear of the external ones being easier to unplug and more difficult to manage the bricks in racks and etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I always though MP = More Power... (insert Tim Allen joke here)

That extra bit of power is helpful when you are hanging off 40 some touchscreen controllers that all want POE.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Washington, D.C.
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2019, 04:05:30 pm »

I always though MP = More Power... (insert Tim Allen joke here)

That extra bit of power is helpful when you are hanging off 40 some touchscreen controllers that all want POE.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Hah ok, I wanted to make sure it wasnít something else that I was just missing. Anyone else worried by external supplies? I have ubiquiti toughswitches I use for everything right now as they have a built in power supply and two fit nicely in 1U, but they donít do IGMP snooping and Iím anticipating more mixed traffic network operations with more multicast in my future.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1234
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #26 on: January 20, 2019, 04:44:03 pm »

Whatever switches people look for with an eye toward Dante use I suggest that you make SFP fiber ports a part of your specifications.  Even if you don't stock fiber cable or use it on a regular basis it's an invaluable option to be set up for as a cross rentable item.  The actual SFP module doesn't need to be an up front cost and fiber solves a lot of otherwise intractable problems sometimes.

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1387
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2019, 05:10:10 pm »

Whatever switches people look for with an eye toward Dante use I suggest that you make SFP fiber ports a part of your specifications.  Even if you don't stock fiber cable or use it on a regular basis it's an invaluable option to be set up for as a cross rentable item.  The actual SFP module doesn't need to be an up front cost and fiber solves a lot of otherwise intractable problems sometimes.
This.
I won't run Dante without Fiber between stage and FOH. Been bitten too many times. Also helps weed out the tire-kickers vs the real companies - Got fiber? Ok, you can supply. No fiber? Next!
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Benjamin Krumholz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #28 on: January 21, 2019, 01:09:33 pm »

I won't run Dante without Fiber between stage and FOH. Been bitten too many times. Also helps weed out the tire-kickers vs the real companies - Got fiber? Ok, you can supply. No fiber? Next!

We just a added few new SG350-10P and SG350-28p and SG350-10SFP to our armada of SG300..

Programming went well except for a few minor differences. Had to create a new running config since they will not cross load.. I will report if we have any major errors.. Also as a note we got the SG350-10SFP as a TRUNK SWITCHER..
Logged

Scott Helmke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1269
Re: Cisco SG300 EOL, SG350 OK for dante?
« Reply #29 on: January 21, 2019, 01:50:20 pm »

We had to bulk up on small switches recently, and ended up going for the SG250-08. They just came back from a month-long run with no complaints.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.038 seconds with 21 queries.