ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: IR emitter,do I need extron specific  (Read 419 times)

C. Ann Kelly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
IR emitter,do I need extron specific
« on: August 07, 2018, 11:14:17 pm »

Hello All,
First post-read rules,and I think I am within specs.

Switching RS232 to  IR emitters,  line of projectors doesn't need resetting as the issue,  but I have 45 to switch out over time.  Do I need to buy the extron specific at $30 a pop?    I currently have a 5 to play with.  Inheriting a truck load of issues, need to fix a lot in a fraction of truely needed  time. 

THanks All!
Logged

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 774
Re: IR emitter,do I need extron specific
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2018, 11:24:00 pm »

Hello All,
First post-read rules,and I think I am within specs.

Switching RS232 to  IR emitters,  line of projectors doesn't need resetting as the issue,  but I have 45 to switch out over time.  Do I need to buy the extron specific at $30 a pop?    I currently have a 5 to play with.  Inheriting a truck load of issues, need to fix a lot in a fraction of truely needed  time. 

THanks All!

I canít speak specifically to Extron but Iíve mixed and matched emitters across multiple brand lines and never had an issue.

I donít really understand your issue but I would never drop RS232 and install IR.  Serial is so much more reliable and you can get feedback from it.
Logged

C. Ann Kelly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: IR emitter,do I need extron specific
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2018, 07:36:54 am »

Thanks for the reply.   I have mlc controls probably 15 years old.  The line of small projectors I have likes to not play nice is the sand box about every 3 weeks, and prpfessors throw a fit.  My larger proj. Of the same age and brand are fine.  Just the most popular.   Did it out of desperation because I didn't have another end to resolder on and it been solid for the last 6 weeks.   I need to pitch to upgrade as it is,   looking at touch screens or new mlc 55, as my rooms are down to 2 inputs for a majority.   
I totally agree, I really didn't plan on touching it,   it something not agreeing.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.053 seconds with 22 queries.