ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Example of a good technical rider for a not-huge PA?  (Read 1842 times)

George Reiswig

Re: Example of a good technical rider for a not-huge PA?
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2023, 02:31:14 PM »

Learn to use a voltmeter and what to expect in a given receptacle-even if you have to draw a picture and write down the readings.  I've been a licensed electrician for a couple of decades
IMO, learning to use and interpret basic voltmeter readings is very high ROI education wise for keeping things in line.  There are handy dandy testers out there-but nothing beats a voltmeter that you know how to read-even if that knowledge is basic.

Yup...I bring my trusty Fluke to gigs. Good tips about checking ground to neutral! Thanks again.

John Schalk

« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2023, 12:53:59 PM »

4 - DB Technologies IG4T's (900W each)
1 - Bassboss VS21 (2400W)
4 - Yamaha DXR10 (1100W each)
1 - good-sized bass amp (700W)
500-600W in LED lighting, plus the mixer, various rack gear, etc.
The total wattage for your PA elements adds up to 10,400 watts.  That's nearly identical to the 10,100 total watts for a band's rig that I used for over 3 years, and we ran our PA, Lights, and Backline on two dedicated 20 amp circuits.  The PA consisted of one PSoft M30D (highs @ 8 ohms), one K3 for lows (@ 8 ohms), one K3 for subs (@ 4ohms) and one Crest 7001 for the buttkicker (one channel @ 4 ohms).  I was able to find power draw specs for all of these amps and they add up to 21.1 amps for 1/8 pink noise duty.