ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Original Macro-Tech Amps  (Read 1895 times)

William Schnake

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 591
    • Schnake Sound & Light
Original Macro-Tech Amps
« on: July 25, 2018, 06:33:47 pm »

So, as I break out our last Macro-Tech amp rack I am wondering if anyone else still has a working original Crown Macro-Tech amp rack.  Ours is used for a side-fill EAW 850 system.  Anyone else still using the original Macro-Techs?

Bill
Logged
Bill Schnake - Owner Schnake Sound & Light

Avid/Crown/EAW/EV/Midas/RCF/Shure/Yamaha

schnakesound.com

Doug Johnson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 245
  • Rhoadesville, VA
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2018, 08:11:22 pm »

A couple of companies here in VA still use 5002s on the subs and 24x6s and 36x12s for wedges
Logged

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1442
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2018, 11:00:06 pm »

I still use MA3600's on subs.

Saw Fleetwood Mac a few years ago and Clair had rackssssss of MA3600's under the stage.

Another local company has quite a few MA5000's and 5002's on subs.

Mark Oakley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 175
    • Oakley Audio
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2018, 12:33:32 am »

Sure; they're my amps for my EV Deltamax 1122's/Adamson S-218 wedding/corporate rig. 1202 on Hi's, 2402 on Mid's, 5002 on Subs, fed from a Xilica DLP 4080. Used them tonight and have a gig tomorrow. They just keep on working.

-Mark
Logged

Chris Grimshaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1248
  • Sheffield, UK
    • Grimshaw Audio
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2018, 03:51:04 am »

Got an MA5002VZ here. It's basically mint so I'm hesitant to use it for events. However, the dub/reggae crowd absolutely love them, so it's currently sitting in the "reggae-style-sound-system" rack awaiting use.

The biggest sound company in town has a few of the 5000s that get used for sub duties.

Chris
Logged
Sheffield-based sound engineering.
www.grimshawaudio.com

Scott Helmke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1398
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2018, 10:06:25 am »

We're still running a few dozen for various things, mostly legacy workhorse speakers like our MacPherson boxes. We could pretty easily do everything with modern amps, with built-in DSP replacing the custom MacPherson PIP cards, but why spend money when we don't have to?  Legacy gear, if it's still appropriate to the gig, is one of the best money makers in the business.
Logged

scottstephens

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 264
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2018, 10:54:33 am »

Bill,

Yep. I still have a 3600, a 2400, and  1200 all pounding away. Every year I just clean out the filters and check the ins & outs and Rock away. I Really like the sound that they (re) produce. And I think we are showing our age.

Scott
Logged

Thomas Le

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 764
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2018, 12:46:09 pm »

Yup, still going here, though one of the fans have gone dead. They just stuck a box fan in front of it to cool it, Yikes!

My church has two 2400's for two Yamaha F15 tops per side (one per channel, 8 ohms) and two 3600VZ's for two Yamaha F28 subs per side (one per channel, 4 ohms), both are modified with 15A edison plugs (amps are 120V 60Hz USA edition).
Logged

Helge A Bentsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 762
  • Oslo, Norway.
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2018, 01:52:15 pm »

One venue in town has a large KF750 system powered by Macrotechs.

1 x Crown Macro-Tech MA2402 Front fill
3 x Crown Macro-Tech MA2402 High
3 x Crown Macro-Tech MA3600VZ High mid
5 x Crown Macro-Tech 5002VZ Low mid
6 x Crown Macro-Tech 5002VZ Low
Amps delay system: 3 x Crown Macro-Tech MA2402

I really enjoy mixing in there, that system still kicks a...

Funny thing is watching the face of some of the young guns that haven't heard or mixed on a sizeable point source system, they freak out because they can't make it sound like a small line array flown up in the air. KF750 hits you in the face and can be quite brutal, but fun.
Logged

William Schnake

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 591
    • Schnake Sound & Light
Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2018, 11:36:48 pm »

I still have a dozen of them in the shop and use them on and off.  As everyone has said, they just keep on working as long as you power them correctly.

Bill
Logged
Bill Schnake - Owner Schnake Sound & Light

Avid/Crown/EAW/EV/Midas/RCF/Shure/Yamaha

schnakesound.com

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Original Macro-Tech Amps
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2018, 11:36:48 pm »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.059 seconds with 24 queries.