ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: Small digital mixer  (Read 5276 times)

Steve Oldridge

Re: Small digital mixer
« Reply #20 on: July 17, 2018, 11:23:38 AM »

Ubiquiti builds enterprise-grade equipment for the most part and they presume it will be configured by a person with real world networking knowledge.  Not that others can't or won't use them (we do), but that the expected level of competence is higher than most of us present.
My home network - 2 AP's 2 switches and a USG (behind my ISP's cable) is ALL Ubiquiti, but I've never seen the need for local Bar/Club/smaller Festival gigs to go beyond an external router and setup AP's AND a router. I've been using the Archer C7 for a couple of years now. Here's how I set it up:
  • 5G only,
  • don't hide the SSID,
  • WPA2 security (to prevent incidental access) and
  • I change the tx/rx settings to decrease the power.
  • DHCP allocation range is limited to 20 connections,
  • the console has a static IP outside the DHCP range, and
  • the routers default IP has the 3rd node changed so the client IP's are outside the default range.  Eg: 192.168.39.1.   

For most gigs, the router sits up on top of a fully extended mic stand (8ft?) behind the console with a single CAT5/6E cable connected to the console. I have a generic GC tablet holder as the router base and use a couple of short bungy cords to lock it to the holder.
I use a wifi scanner at each venue to determine 5G interference and will change the routers operating channels for both 2.4 and 5G if necessary to minimize clutter.
Never had an issue.
Did have a few dropouts, but determined that caused by my old Gen2 iPad, NOT the router interface. I upgraded to a Gen5 and added an Andy tablet and all works great.
FWIW - I have run QSC TM30, QU-24, X32, X32R and XR18 consoles remotely with this router.