ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: "Go" button for que-software  (Read 3890 times)

Miguel Dahl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 266
"Go" button for que-software
« on: June 25, 2018, 11:27:09 am »

I've looked at some out of the box options for a go button, the one which comes to mind is a go button I've found which works with CueLab, to me it's a bit pricy..

I'm using Show Cue systems, and would like an external button which is my "Go" button.

Is there something "cheap" I can get, or is it simple to build one? I can get our service-guy at the shop to make me one if it's simple. I'd like an USB-thing which just triggers the software.
Logged

Lou Kohley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 02:56:17 pm »

You can hack up a usb keyboard and only wire the two contacts for the space bar to a button. Put the whole thing in a project box.
Ive made several of these and they work great with no extra software.

There is also these guys that sell single key keyboard.
https://techkeys.us

LOU
Logged

Jordan Wolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2018, 04:31:59 pm »

You could check out X-Keys.
Logged
--Airport Circle Sound Reinforcement, LLC--

Joris Jans2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
    • Vester Theater Techniek
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2018, 05:05:19 pm »

X-keys is nice,

you can hack a USB Game controller (get the print out of it & build it yourself in a square box with good knobs) or you can buy something like this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/str/bbjsimracing
Logged

Ben Ballard

  • Classic LAB
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2018, 05:22:31 pm »

I use a Teensy LC . It requires a bit of soldering but nothing that hard. Easy. There's also massives of videos and websites about it. Google go button with Teensy Lc.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Logged

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3113
  • Toronto
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2018, 08:04:04 am »

I use a Teensy LC . It requires a bit of soldering but nothing that hard. Easy. There's also massives of videos and websites about it. Google go button with Teensy Lc.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk
I used a Teensy Arduino that can be programmed to spit out a keyboard command.
Works great and cheap and easy.

http://rasterweb.net/raster/2011/05/09/the-button/

Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Ben Ballard

  • Classic LAB
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2018, 05:05:03 pm »

I used a Teensy Arduino that can be programmed to spit out a keyboard command.
Works great and cheap and easy.

http://rasterweb.net/raster/2011/05/09/the-button/
That's what I liked about them. Super cheap and really easy to customize aswell. I'm now making a bigger one with 6 keys.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Logged

Justice C. Bigler

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2246
  • Somewhere between the Atlantic and Pacific
    • My homepage
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2018, 06:35:25 pm »

There used to be a product by a former Labster named Andy Levis (now Lang). It was a four or 6 button USB/MIDI remote for operating QLab and other playback software. Sadly, I think he has stopped producing them. But you might try the email listed on the website.

http://ducksechosound.com/
Logged
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2205
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2018, 09:32:24 pm »

I've looked at some out of the box options for a go button, the one which comes to mind is a go button I've found which works with CueLab, to me it's a bit pricy..

I'm using Show Cue systems, and would like an external button which is my "Go" button.

Is there something "cheap" I can get, or is it simple to build one? I can get our service-guy at the shop to make me one if it's simple. I'd like an USB-thing which just triggers the software.

This is much more than a go button, but I encourage anyone that uses Qlab or anything imilar to check out Stream Deck, by ElGato. 

https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/stream-deck

Very nifty.  Especially the ability to load jpgs as your key labels.  And it basically will trigger anything on any computer.
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3113
  • Toronto
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2018, 06:29:49 am »

This is much more than a go button, but I encourage anyone that uses Qlab or anything imilar to check out Stream Deck, by ElGato. 

https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/stream-deck

Very nifty.  Especially the ability to load jpgs as your key labels.  And it basically will trigger anything on any computer.
Very cool!
$200 at Amazon is reasonable.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2018, 06:29:49 am »


Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.079 seconds with 25 queries.