ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: "Go" button for que-software  (Read 3157 times)

Miguel Dahl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 204
"Go" button for que-software
« on: June 25, 2018, 11:27:09 am »

I've looked at some out of the box options for a go button, the one which comes to mind is a go button I've found which works with CueLab, to me it's a bit pricy..

I'm using Show Cue systems, and would like an external button which is my "Go" button.

Is there something "cheap" I can get, or is it simple to build one? I can get our service-guy at the shop to make me one if it's simple. I'd like an USB-thing which just triggers the software.
Logged

Lou Kohley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 90
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 02:56:17 pm »

You can hack up a usb keyboard and only wire the two contacts for the space bar to a button. Put the whole thing in a project box.
Iíve made several of these and they work great with no extra software.

There is also these guys that sell single key keyboard.
https://techkeys.us

LOU
Logged

Jordan Wolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2018, 04:31:59 pm »

You could check out X-Keys.
Logged
--Airport Circle Sound Reinforcement, LLC--

Joris Jans2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
    • Vester Theater Techniek
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2018, 05:05:19 pm »

X-keys is nice,

you can hack a USB Game controller (get the print out of it & build it yourself in a square box with good knobs) or you can buy something like this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/str/bbjsimracing
Logged

Ben Ballard

  • Classic LAB
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2018, 05:22:31 pm »

I use a Teensy LC . It requires a bit of soldering but nothing that hard. Easy. There's also massives of videos and websites about it. Google go button with Teensy Lc.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Logged

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3047
  • Toronto
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2018, 08:04:04 am »

I use a Teensy LC . It requires a bit of soldering but nothing that hard. Easy. There's also massives of videos and websites about it. Google go button with Teensy Lc.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk
I used a Teensy Arduino that can be programmed to spit out a keyboard command.
Works great and cheap and easy.

http://rasterweb.net/raster/2011/05/09/the-button/

Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Ben Ballard

  • Classic LAB
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2018, 05:05:03 pm »

I used a Teensy Arduino that can be programmed to spit out a keyboard command.
Works great and cheap and easy.

http://rasterweb.net/raster/2011/05/09/the-button/
That's what I liked about them. Super cheap and really easy to customize aswell. I'm now making a bigger one with 6 keys.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Logged

Justice C. Bigler

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2189
  • Tulsa, Oklahoma
    • My homepage
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2018, 06:35:25 pm »

There used to be a product by a former Labster named Andy Levis (now Lang). It was a four or 6 button USB/MIDI remote for operating QLab and other playback software. Sadly, I think he has stopped producing them. But you might try the email listed on the website.

http://ducksechosound.com/
Logged
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2110
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2018, 09:32:24 pm »

I've looked at some out of the box options for a go button, the one which comes to mind is a go button I've found which works with CueLab, to me it's a bit pricy..

I'm using Show Cue systems, and would like an external button which is my "Go" button.

Is there something "cheap" I can get, or is it simple to build one? I can get our service-guy at the shop to make me one if it's simple. I'd like an USB-thing which just triggers the software.

This is much more than a go button, but I encourage anyone that uses Qlab or anything imilar to check out Stream Deck, by ElGato. 

https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/stream-deck

Very nifty.  Especially the ability to load jpgs as your key labels.  And it basically will trigger anything on any computer.
Logged
brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3047
  • Toronto
Re: "Go" button for que-software
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2018, 06:29:49 am »

This is much more than a go button, but I encourage anyone that uses Qlab or anything imilar to check out Stream Deck, by ElGato. 

https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/stream-deck

Very nifty.  Especially the ability to load jpgs as your key labels.  And it basically will trigger anything on any computer.
Very cool!
$200 at Amazon is reasonable.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.038 seconds with 22 queries.