ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Use of Snake (which connector to use?)  (Read 1779 times)

Ferd Regier

Use of Snake (which connector to use?)
« on: December 14, 2005, 03:11:46 PM »

I've got two options for running my signal from my Mackie CFX16 to my amp (Peavey CS800), both through the snake.
The snake has a pair of 1/4" monitor feeds and a pair of 1/4" main feeds (heavier gauge, so I assume they were designed to be speaker level outs).  Unfortunately, I have no XLR connectors for use here.  I'm still new to this, but I understand that XLR would be better for longer runs.
So my question is - should I use the thinner monitor conductors, or the thicker speaker level ones?  I suppose a third option is to run a new XLR to the amp.
Oh yeah, the amp is near the stage (about 50' away from the mixer).  The snake is about 50' long.
Any suggestions?
Ferd Regier

John Roberts {JR}

Re: Use of Snake (which connector to use?)
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2005, 03:27:05 PM »

Ferd wrote on Wed, 14 December 2005 14:11

I've got two options for running my signal from my Mackie CFX16 to my amp (Peavey CS800), both through the snake.
The snake has a pair of 1/4" monitor feeds and a pair of 1/4" main feeds (heavier gauge, so I assume they were designed to be speaker level outs).  Unfortunately, I have no XLR connectors for use here.  I'm still new to this, but I understand that XLR would be better for longer runs.
So my question is - should I use the thinner monitor conductors, or the thicker speaker level ones?  I suppose a third option is to run a new XLR to the amp.
Oh yeah, the amp is near the stage (about 50' away from the mixer).  The snake is about 50' long.
Any suggestions?
Ferd Regier

Speaker feeds are also unshielded, so you clearly don't want to use them. The obvious suggestion is try the 1/4" signal feeds and see if they work OK. If not go XLR.

JR