ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Banjo and mandolin live reinforcement  (Read 3148 times)

Josephryanevans

Banjo and mandolin live reinforcement
« on: May 12, 2018, 03:03:58 PM »

So, here’s a quandary from a total newbie to sound reinforcement.

I’m a banjo and mandolin player and our band is just getting a start. At the moment, I have a wired Audio Technica lapel style mic that I just switch back and forth between the two instruments. It plugs straight into the board. It’s not bad but has distinct disadvantages. Namely that I can’t adjust EQ or volume or anything between the two. I’m stuck with one setting. Plus it’s a pain to switch.

So, I plan to buy either a mic or pickup for one or the other instrument. Further, I’d like to up my ability to control my sound and reduce the number of inputs into the board by buying a 2 channel acoustic amp or a 2 channel preamp.

My questions are is this a good plan, what would be the pros and cons of an amp vs a preamp, and what should I look for in these things to get a natural reproduction of my instruments?

Thank you for any and all feedback.
Joe

Dave Garoutte

• San Rafael, CA
Re: Banjo and mandolin live reinforcement
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2018, 03:11:29 PM »

Look at the  Tone Dexter
I got one to play with and it really does work.
It is for acoustic instruments with pickups.
It automatically builds an algorithm to reproduce the acoustic sound from the pickup.
Very cool tech.

Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Josephryanevans

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2018, 04:28:54 PM »

With the Tone Dexter, can I plug both instruments in at once? One through te mic input and the other through the instrument input?

Dave Garoutte

• San Rafael, CA