ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: IP65 Questions  (Read 4742 times)

Art Nadelman

IP65 Questions
« on: April 27, 2018, 02:43:03 PM »

I'm new to the world of IP65.  I just purchased my first IP65-rated Chauvet lights.  It's nice that they're IP65-rated, but they come with a power cord with an Edison plug on one end, therefore I'd have to plug it into an Edison receptacle at that end. 

So my question is, how do I make everything on stage IP-65 safe, at least outlets and connections for Edison cords?

Thanks.

Jeremy Young

• Brown Bear Sound
Re: IP65 Questions
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2018, 07:21:14 PM »

Hi Art, I'm not much more seasoned on IP65 but I've been doing a lot of research myself for my next lighting upgrade so hopefully this is helpful. 

The Neutrik PowerCon True1 connectors would be a good place to start.  It's a locking, 16A, waterproof mains connector that connects in series (like a typical extension cord, male to female) as opposed to the conventional powercon connectors that require couplers to join lengths. 

As for "waterproof edison", I believe that's an oxymoron to the best of my knowledge.  There are outlets available with spring-loaded gasketed covers to keep unused receptacles protected, but once you open that cover to plug in your NEMA5-15P, I don't know as there's a reliable way to keep moisture out of that connection (but I'm happy to be corrected on this by someone more knowledgeable on the topic).