ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: BlackCat Sound byte mp3 problem  (Read 822 times)

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3427
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
BlackCat Sound byte mp3 problem
« on: April 08, 2018, 03:29:52 pm »

I have been testing Sound Byte on a Windows 10 laptop recently.

I dragged a mp3 to a cart and it shows a 0 seconds long when I know it is 5 minutes.

It played ok in Windows media player.

I tried another mp3 and it loaded fine.

Any ideas?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Gordon Brinton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 522
  • ID Verified
    • Raw Depth Sound, Harrisburg, PA
Re: BlackCat Sound byte mp3 problem
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2018, 04:10:35 pm »

Some mp3 players only support audio encoded in a certain manner and won't support certain methods of encoding like variable bit rate, high bit rates (320kbps+) , or mp3's with Digital Rights Management (DRM).

You can try converting the file to another format and then converting it back to mp3 again using standard encoding.

(I am just guessing here. I really don't know.)
Logged
Member since 2005.

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3333
  • Toronto
Re: BlackCat Sound byte mp3 problem
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2018, 05:20:38 pm »

I have been testing Sound Byte on a Windows 10 laptop recently.

I dragged a mp3 to a cart and it shows a 0 seconds long when I know it is 5 minutes.

It played ok in Windows media player.

I tried another mp3 and it loaded fine.

Any ideas?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
When that happened to me I imported the file to Audacity then exported as .mp3 and it corrected the issue.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3427
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: BlackCat Sound byte mp3 problem
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2018, 06:05:13 pm »

When that happened to me I imported the file to Audacity then exported as .mp3 and it corrected the issue.

I loaded the mp3 into reaper and rendered it as a wav.
Seems to work.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3333
  • Toronto
Re: BlackCat Sound byte mp3 problem
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2018, 06:21:30 pm »

I loaded the mp3 into reaper and rendered it as a wav.
Seems to work.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Glad it worked. :)
I still don't know exactly why it happens.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: BlackCat Sound byte mp3 problem
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2018, 06:21:30 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.134 seconds with 25 queries.