ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: digital mixer re-boots?  (Read 4201 times)

Steve Ferreira

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
Re: digital mixer re-boots?
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2018, 01:09:16 pm »

I have been lucky and never lost signal to a console.....(know on wood). I did have the left bank on a DiGico D1 lock up on me once, lost the touch screen and controls. Luckily it was during sound check. Rebooted the console and the problem was still there, moved everything from the left section onto the centre section. Sucked with all the layer jumping but the event happened without a hitch. Turns out a jumper cable came loose in the console.
Logged

Stephen Kirby

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3006
Re: digital mixer re-boots?
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2018, 01:59:38 pm »

Have had my Soundcraft Expression lock up on me at home testing when I first got it.  Passed audio but didn't respond to any controls.  Since putting a CyberPower UPS on it, zero problems.
Logged

William Schnake

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
    • Schnake Sound & Light
Re: digital mixer re-boots?
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2018, 02:00:56 pm »

And how did Avid take care of supporting your SC48?  The issue we had with the TDM jumper between mix engine cards was pretty much identified down to the component and Avid emailed me detailed instructions on disassembly and reassembly of the console.
Hi Tim, it wasn't our board.  I was mixing the opener for the show as their FoH A1.

Bill
Logged
Bill Schnake - Owner Schnake Sound & Light

Avid/Crown/EAW/EV/Midas/RCF/Shure/Yamaha

schnakesound.com

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19899
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: digital mixer re-boots?
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2018, 03:08:14 pm »

Hi Tim, it wasn't our board.  I was mixing the opener for the show as their FoH A1.

Bill

Saw the Avid in your sig line, presumed it was your desk.  Oops.

We've been pleased with Avid support and almost all of it has been for "computers".  Only 1 i/o related hardware problem (under warranty), a couple of faders.  The support techs are top notch, IMHO, and Avid follows up on every ticket.  That kind of support is expensive (24/7/365) but is part of what separates professional gear in commercial use from the MI and pro-sumer stuff.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Weogo Reed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 215
  • Western NC,
    • LiveEdge
Re: digital mixer re-boots?
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2018, 03:31:02 pm »

Hi Folks,

Thanks for all the informative replies.
I was hoping to see zero issues with the more expensive mixers,
but in reality they are probably just much less common.

EARLY ADOPTERS:
Time and again, early adopters reap the joys of new tools, and
the all too common hardware and software bugs that can accompany them.
From what I've seen, reputable manufacturers do fix
pretty much every problem they reasonably can.

LEMONS:
Even the most consistent, precise and reliable robot soldering, assembly, etc.
machine needs human cleaning and maintenance at some point.
I wonder how many of the issues we see are because of humans
not doing what needs to be done on schedule?

FOR PERSPECTIVE:
An uncle worked his whole career for a supplier of electronics materials for military use.
He told me they charged astronomical prices for transistors and everything else, because
they had thoroughly tested each and every piece that went out the door; they
did not want a fighter jet falling out of the sky because THEIR component failed.
How much are we willing to pay for how much testing?

My SurgeX unit goes out for gigs with questionable power, but
mostly I just use a good, basic UPS.
How many of you are always using SurgeX level surge protection?

Would it be possible for a USB(or other digitally connected) device to cause a mixer re-boot?

These are live shows.  Stuff happens.
My opinion  ~  digital mixer re-boots are a first-world problem.

Thanks and good health,  Weogo
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.056 seconds with 23 queries.