ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 50 ohm vs 75 ohm coax for wireless mic antenna - does this make sense?  (Read 9136 times)

Ed Hall

• Classic LAB
  • Lansdale, PA

I’m new to wireless mics having just bought two Shure ULXP units. I was looking for a rack mount for the antennas when I came across this

ebay listing for dual remote antenna kit

In the description the seller says that 75 ohm coax is better for this use. Shure specs 50 ohm cable and connectors. I don’t know a lot about this so I thought I’d ask the experts here.

Does this make sense or is it BS?

The relevant section is below

Ed

“What's the difference between 50 and 75 ohm coaxial cable?
Coaxial cable is comprised of three main components.  In the middle of the coaxial cable is what is known as the center conductor.  It can be made of either solid or stranded wire and is typically a mix of Aluminum and Copper.  Surrounding the center conductor is something called the dielectric.  The dielectric acts as a buffer of sorts to keep the center conductor isolated and straight. It usually is comprised of some blend of plastic and/or foam. Finally, on the outside of the dielectric is the coaxial cable’s shield, which is usually a combination of Copper and Aluminum foil and/or wire braid.  The shield is then coated by something like PVC to insulate it from the environment.