ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7   Go Down

Author Topic: Generator OK for digital equipment?  (Read 9243 times)

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2017, 05:26:50 pm »

Dude-ette...
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

kel mcguire

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 381
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2017, 06:43:25 pm »

Usually these kinds of events use a rental service like United Rentals to provide a gennie for the day, sometimes its a donated unit from an in-kind supporter. Good places like United Rentals generally meter their units. But, I'd at least check the voltage and polarity. Is there a spider box supplied near the stage? I've been told of a "huge generator" for the stage but there's no spider box, only the two Edison 15a
Logged

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1890
  • Corpus Christi, TX.
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2017, 06:44:34 pm »

We often use a Whisperwatt 25K for shows with no issues. More than enough, even with our full production.

We always bring our own distro which has a 50amp California plug though. We've had issues with the distros that come from the generator rental companies.

Thoroughly test your power before plugging in of course.
Logged
"At first you don't succeed, go back to the drawing board."

Don T. Williams

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 735
  • Midas Pro 1 & 2, M32, dbTech T12, T8, S30, DM12
    • Q Systems Music & Sound
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2017, 06:59:09 pm »

Debbie, this is a "real" generator.  It should be fine if 100 amps of power will work for your rig (and from what I see, I don't know why it shouldn't).  Just use the usual caution to make certain the spider box outlets are at the voltages they should be.  Usually even if it is a three phase generator with multiple voltage settings, the spider boxes run off a separate part of the alternator and are 120/240 V from a 50A twist lock.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20504
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2017, 07:08:16 pm »

Oh, Debbie... a bit of Old Home (if your old home was in Peterborough, UK) - MQ uses diesel engines from Perkins (or John Deere).
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1890
  • Corpus Christi, TX.
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2017, 07:19:26 pm »

You want to use my disrto?
Logged
"At first you don't succeed, go back to the drawing board."

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5024
  • Central North Carolina
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2017, 07:19:33 pm »

Oh, Debbie... a bit of Old Home (if your old home was in Peterborough, UK) - MQ uses diesel engines from Perkins (or John Deere).

That is so cool Tim - yes, Perkins was down the road and my late  father-in-law who passed 2 years ago worked there for over 25 years.
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5024
  • Central North Carolina
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2017, 07:19:59 pm »

They are also supplying 50 amp cable and distro.
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5024
  • Central North Carolina
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #18 on: October 04, 2017, 07:20:13 pm »

Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5024
  • Central North Carolina
Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2017, 07:21:18 pm »

You want to use my disrto?

No thanks Jamin - I have one just like this. ::)
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Generator OK for digital equipment?
« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2017, 07:21:18 pm »


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.124 seconds with 22 queries.