ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Which subs?  (Read 1884 times)

Dave Garoutte

• San Rafael, CA
Which subs?
« on: August 25, 2017, 04:18:03 PM »

Hi All,

I know there are some similar threads, but...

I'm bidding on providing sound for a small street fair, which I have been supplying the stage for several years.
The primary covered area is probably 40' x 50'.
My question is what I should do for subs?

I am using 2 DSR112 for tops and I have 2 PRX718xlf subs, but I think I will need more.
I would rather not buy more of the PRX, as it's an opportunity to move up a level, albeit slowly, as I can't afford to spend too much right now.
I'm thinking of adding an SRX828 to the two PRXs.  I can get a second SRX later to complete the 'package'.
Do you think the SRX and PRX will play together well?
I was also looking at the JTR Captivator 118.
I wish I could afford Danley.
Or if I can find two more PRXs to rent for the day.

Opinions?
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Nathan Riddle

• Niceville, FL
    • Nailed Productions
Re: Which subs?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2017, 04:21:31 PM »

If you want Danley but can't afford Danley I'd just go JTR Orbit Shifter and be done for the conceivable future. IMO
I'm just a guy trying to do the next right thing.

This business is for people with too much energy for desk jobs and too much brain for labor jobs. - Scott Helmke

Robert Piascik

• Westerville, OH (near Columbus)
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2017, 04:23:38 PM »

My opinion:

4x TH-118 buy once, cry once

You won't need anything else for your level of gigs and you'll smile EVERY time you turn them on as I do
Pi Entertainment Services
Midas M32R / MR18
Behringer X32R
Danley SH50 / SM80 / TH118 / TH115