ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Looking for right amplifier  (Read 3276 times)

Justin Pavek

Looking for right amplifier
« on: July 12, 2017, 11:06:04 AM »

Hey guys,

I'm looking for a good amplifier to power my Evid 4.2 speakers.  I have 2 speakers. I am not very experienced with audio.  They have a power rating of 400 watts at 8 ohms.  What are some options for a power amp?

Thanks

Luke Geis

• Owner of Endever Music Production's
Re: Looking for right amplifier
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2017, 05:57:58 PM »

An amplifier that has 400 watts per channel at 8 ohms would be a good start, but it depends on how you are wiring them.

If you are wiring them in parallel, you will have a load of 4 ohms on the amp. The wattage would also compound and you could power them with up to 800 watts or so. If you are just going to run 1 per channel of amplifier, you need only find an amp that will produce roughly 400 watts per channel at 8 ohm's.

My suggestion would be to find an amp that has a built in crossover or some amount of digital processing. You will want to cut the low end content going to these speakers somewhere between  60-100hz in order to prolong their life. If they are truly being used as background music playback at low levels, you can go without a crossover of low cut filter, but be aware that running them at loud levels can result in driver failure.
I don't understand how you can't hear yourself

Craig Hauber

• Mondak Sound Design - Plentywood MT/Grenora ND
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2017, 08:22:07 PM »

An amplifier that has 400 watts per channel at 8 ohms would be a good start, but it depends on how you are wiring them.