ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Working with a difficult performer when volunteering to run sound  (Read 8083 times)

jesseweiss

Re: Working with a difficult performer when volunteering to run sound
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2017, 10:15:06 am »

When it comes to acoustic guitars I always prepare a mic for it even if it "has a great DI" builtin.

And as the previous poster said; If I'm doing this for free it is on my terms or bring your own guy.

Next week I'm doing a paid festival gig and one band wants to give me the main output from their own mixer that they will have on stage with them and I've told them that they are on their own as I will lose all control, more or less, and can't take any responsibility for gear that I don't provide myself.

In response to others, I always maintain a professional attitude in everything I do as I'm a teacher.  I kept calm and tried to work with her until she at least gave up complaining. I wasn't in charge, so didn't feel I had the authority to do much (the pastor was off doing other things as this was a community event outside a church).  We also had an issue with the 2nd act (a local School of Rock, but it turns out not the one with kids from in the community) was going long so I gave them a stop time.  The owner of the school complained (as did some of the parents) as we started late (partly from rain and partly the first performer mentioned above) and we had not choice but for everyone to cut down.  So they asked for 1 last song, I said sure.  They decided to do Roundabout (you kidding me) straight into Long Time by Boston.  That's 20 minutes of music.  The pastor did talk to them and they won't be asked back, plus a performer 2 sets later (after us) and a parent in the community planned on emailing her as well. It never ceases to amaze me how self centered people are.