ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?  (Read 3352 times)

Thomas Le

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 759
Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« on: May 01, 2017, 01:19:06 pm »

My church has two 2400's for two Yamaha F15 tops per side (one per channel, 8 ohms) and two 3600VZ's for two Yamaha F28 subs per side (one per channel, 4 ohms), both are modified with 15A edison plugs (amps are 120V 60Hz USA edition).
What are the original power plugs for each respective amp?
Stupid question but is it safe to continue operating both amps using the 15A edison plugs?
 
Logged

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3114
  • Toronto
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2017, 01:49:45 pm »

My church has two 2400's for two Yamaha F15 tops per side (one per channel, 8 ohms) and two 3600VZ's for two Yamaha F28 subs per side (one per channel, 4 ohms), both are modified with 15A edison plugs (amps are 120V 60Hz USA edition).
What are the original power plugs for each respective amp?
Stupid question but is it safe to continue operating both amps using the 15A edison plugs?
 
Provided the cct breaker for that outlet is rated the same as the plug and cord, it is "safe" to operate.
I know with the VZ5000 amps , I used a 30 amp plug for 120 volt operation.
Depends (I know....) how much load you have on them and how hard you drive them.
Unlike some of the "modern" amps, these older Crowns like a good solid voltage supply.
Your application is reasonably light so you should be OK.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1585
  • So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2017, 07:08:49 pm »

30A 120V


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Jonathan Johnson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2995
  • Southwest Washington (state, not DC)
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2017, 07:26:02 pm »

30A 120V


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

That appears to be a NEMA TT-30, usually used for recreational vehicles. Outside of the RV industry, a NEMA 5-30 or NEMA L5-30 plug is usually used for 30A 125V service.

It's similar to a NEMA 7-15 or 7-20, but I believe those are a smaller diameter and only for 277V single phase.
Logged
Stop confusing the issue with facts and logic!

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20394
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2017, 07:33:30 pm »

That appears to be a NEMA TT-30, usually used for recreational vehicles. Outside of the RV industry, a NEMA 5-30 or NEMA L5-30 plug is usually used for 30A 125V service.

It's similar to a NEMA 7-15 or 7-20, but I believe those are a smaller diameter and only for 277V single phase.

It is what it appears to be and yes, that is how it was shipped from the factory.  In the field you frequently find them with 5-15.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Thomas Le

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 759
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2017, 10:57:47 pm »

Looking at the macrotech ebay listings, looks like there are two variants of the 2400: one using 15A edison and one using 20A edison with a 15A edison converter. 3600VZ is indeed 30A. Thanks guys.
Logged

Scott Helmke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2017, 02:39:01 pm »

FWIW all of our rental 3600's have 15A Edison plugs, and it's never been a problem. The 30A plug assumes sine waves, I think.  As long as you steer clear of EDM you'll be fine.
Logged

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2017, 05:17:48 pm »

Looking at the macrotech ebay listings, looks like there are two variants of the 2400: one using 15A edison and one using 20A edison with a 15A edison converter. 3600VZ is indeed 30A. Thanks guys.

The very early MA2400's shipped with a 30 amp RV plug then the later ones had a 20 amp edison.
My 3600's still have the 30amp RV plug, I built my distros to accommodate them early on.

Ed Hall

  • Classic LAB
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
  • Lansdale, PA
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2017, 08:14:28 am »

  This thread got me thinking, so I went out and checked mine. I have a MA3600 and MA5000 from the late 90's.  Both have a L16-30 installed with a short adapter cord to 5-15. ???  Haven't used them much and never looked at the plug installed on the amps.  I have no idea why the that plug was installed??? Time to buy the right plug. More shop time!   ::)
Logged
I can't change reality just because you don't like it!

Thomas Le

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 759
Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2017, 02:13:24 pm »

Got through the weekend with the church rig, thankfully there was a distro to plug them into though the highest was 20A per breaker. No EDM material here ('cause its a church...). Thanks again.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2017, 02:13:24 pm »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.059 seconds with 22 queries.