ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trouble Shooting a Rattle/Distortion in a Yorkville U15 Horn  (Read 1819 times)

Steve Crump

Let me preface this by stating I am not a bench tech/ speaker service person, just a speaker owner with an issue.

Okay, I setup my (4) Yorkville U15s to test before putting them up for sale (again). They have been stored for around a year. I was playing some BB King and messing around with the board not paying a lot of attention, sounded good. Then I started playing Gillian Welch at a typical SPL level for a small outdoor event, started walking around the yard and I was getting this "rattle or distortion" out of the one of the horns. What was weird it seem to come and go, more go. Not coming and going at a high rate, it was just as if at points during the music it wasn't that noticeable. Like it was only happening in a certain range or output?  Well I started unplugging speakers just so I could focus on that one speaker. When Gillian's vocals were really pronounced is when you could really hear the "breakup".
I took the horn and HF driver out, brought it into my shop plugged the HF driver into a small amp and didn't notice any sound issues, then I did the same with the MF drivers with the same result, reinstalled the horn into the cabinet and tested again and break up was still there. I did have another speaker on the same cable and amp channel, so I know it wasn't some where back through the chain because the other speaker sounded great.

Any thoughts? Could it be the integral crossover?

Steve

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

• Classic LAB
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: Trouble Shooting a Rattle/Distortion in a Yorkville U15 Horn
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2017, 01:50:17 PM »

Let me preface this by stating I am not a bench tech/ speaker service person, just a speaker owner with an issue.