ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues  (Read 5615 times)

Mike Ottinger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2017, 02:47:50 pm »

Yes, always green once I disable the WiFi driver, but I haven't run it while recording. As you can see, I get latency errors even when not recording showing up in DC.No, just independent drives, and as I mentioned, very high speed SSDs.
I have been having the same issue, Just wandering if your laptop is a quad core i7? 
I have a T520 dual core with 16 gig of ram and 256 G SSD.  Also 7200 750 g drive in bay.  I have given up trying to record with DVS.  Same problem all is well then occasional glitches.

Mike
Pyramid Sound Works
Logged

Mike Ottinger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #21 on: April 29, 2017, 02:47:11 pm »

Did anyone discover any magic to make DVS work without glitches?
I have Lenovo 520 i5 16 g Ram, 256 SSD, and 750 GB 7200 speed drive. 
Thanks for any help !  Do I need to switch to Quad core Processor?

Mike


Mike
Pyramid Sound Works
[/quote]
Logged

Robert Lofgren

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 878
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #22 on: April 29, 2017, 03:41:47 pm »

I don't see anywhere the connection patth between your dante device and dvs?

Check the network interface tunable parameters and disable flow-control if possible. Make sure that none of your network devices are using energy star powersaving features.
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1722
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #23 on: April 29, 2017, 05:45:40 pm »

I don't see anywhere the connection patth between your dante device and dvs?

Check the network interface tunable parameters and disable flow-control if possible. Make sure that none of your network devices are using energy star powersaving features.
That's all pretty basic Dante stuff.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21356
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2017, 06:44:42 pm »

So at this point I have to ask "what did Audinate have to say about this?"

They had a guy who posted here a year or so previous and I was hoping he'd respond.  Perhaps it's time to light the fire under them?
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1722
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #25 on: April 29, 2017, 06:50:48 pm »

They said to connect directly to the device as a test. Unfortunately, we had a redundant system that didn't allow this and I don't have time to do the serious troubleshooting independently from the connected rig.
Now I'm away from that rig for quite a while so I expect I'll not get to the bottom of this until next year, and by then I'll probably have purchased a new computer. File it under Murphy.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Justice C. Bigler

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2484
  • back home in Oklahoma
    • My homepage
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #26 on: April 29, 2017, 07:02:34 pm »

They said to connect directly to the device as a test. Unfortunately, we had a redundant system that didn't allow this and I don't have time to do the serious troubleshooting independently from the connected rig.
Now I'm away from that rig for quite a while so I expect I'll not get to the bottom of this until next year, and by then I'll probably have purchased a new computer. File it under Murphy.
This has been my experience also. I start troubleshooting, and then get swamped with back to back shows and can't troubleshoot it for awhile and then have to come back and start all over.


In troubleshooting my last round of problems, I updated the firmware on my CL and RIOs and made sure that all software was up to date. Things still didn't work. So I shut everything down, and rebooted, starting with the computer first. Let the computer boot up all the way first, then I booted up the console and RIOs and the network switches. Suddenly it all start working.  :-\
Logged
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2503
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #27 on: April 30, 2017, 12:02:15 am »

This has been my experience also. I start troubleshooting, and then get swamped with back to back shows and can't troubleshoot it for awhile and then have to come back and start all over.


In troubleshooting my last round of problems, I updated the firmware on my CL and RIOs and made sure that all software was up to date. Things still didn't work. So I shut everything down, and rebooted, starting with the computer first. Let the computer boot up all the way first, then I booted up the console and RIOs and the network switches. Suddenly it all start working.  :-\

The number of times i have had this happen with Yamaha Dante products...  And i am in the Yamaha Fanboy Hall Of Fame, so it pains me to say it.

That being said, i have never been completely unable to make a Dante Network work, at least now that i know kinda what i'm doing in setting one up.  But that doesn't mean i don't have to kick the tires a couple of times to make it work....
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Robert Lofgren

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 878
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #28 on: April 30, 2017, 04:42:32 am »

If configuring the computer network interface tunable parameters like network traffic flow-control is basic stuff for dante (I'm not talking about dante flows or router/switch configuration) then why can't I easily find any information about it and must be well hidden? If you have a link to such information I'd be happy to read more about it.

Your issue sounds just like one of my test cases with dvs/via and dante where the computer network interface was only working at about 25% of its full speed due to flow control.

That's all pretty basic Dante stuff.
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1722
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #29 on: April 30, 2017, 03:11:52 pm »

If configuring the computer network interface tunable parameters like network traffic flow-control is basic stuff for dante (I'm not talking about dante flows or router/switch configuration) then why can't I easily find any information about it and must be well hidden? If you have a link to such information I'd be happy to read more about it.
It's all over the Audinate web site.
https://www.audinate.com/resources/networks-switches

Quote
Your issue sounds just like one of my test cases with dvs/via and dante where the computer network interface was only working at about 25% of its full speed due to flow control.
It wasn't the switch(es) because other computers worked without issue.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Help troubleshooting new DVS recording issues
« Reply #29 on: April 30, 2017, 03:11:52 pm »


Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.066 seconds with 23 queries.