ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: thoughts on parting ways with client?  (Read 17494 times)

Keith Broughton

• Toronto
thoughts on parting ways with client?
« on: April 10, 2017, 02:51:50 PM »

I work as a sub contractor with a local AV company once in a while.
The shows I have worked on are pretty much a complete PITA due to the lack of detailed info and producer....er.....um...how shall I put this?... "qualifications" ::)
Also, the provided equipment is not well maintained and I don't get competent help.
I just don't need the work bad enough to deal with the trouble these shows are. Maybe 20 years ago but not so much now.

So, the question  is, do I explain that I no longer want to accept and work or do I just become "unavailable" when contacted for work?
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: thoughts on parting ways with client?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2017, 02:54:05 PM »

The shows I have worked on are pretty much a complete PITA due to the lack of detailed info and producer....er.....um...how shall I put this?... "qualifications" ::)
Also, the provided equipment is not well maintained and I don't get competent help.
I just don't need the work bad enough to deal with the trouble these shows are. Maybe 20 years ago but not so much now.

So, the question  is, do I explain that I no longer want to accept and work or do I just become "unavailable" when contacted for work?

Raise your day rate until it's commensurate with the PITA factor.  If they ask why you're charging more you can tell them it's to compensate you for the lack of professionalism on their part.
"If you're passing on your way, from Palm Springs to L.A., Give a wave to good ol' Dave, Say hello to progress and goodbye to the Moonlight Motor Inn." - Steve Spurgin, Moonlight Motor Inn

TJ (Tom) Cornish

• St. Paul, MN