ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Large Home Made Video Wall - Advice?  (Read 4904 times)

Stuart Murphy

Large Home Made Video Wall - Advice?
« on: March 22, 2017, 08:16:34 AM »

Hi Everyone,

I'm a pro guitar player of 30 years touring experience with live rock and pop cover bands. I'm currently in a Shania Twain tribute band, that needs a high definition video wall. I've been through every scenario I can think of, including high quality projectors kindly suggested by others in the forum, but they seem to get somewhat blown out by any stage lighting in its vicinity (but only projectors of the £4000 variety - nothing as flash as a Barco etc projector). So I've had to think very laterally, in order to come up with something that looks great, is easy for me to set up at gigs, and that I can afford, as it's my band, so I have to fork out for everything.. :-/

My idea that so far seems really great in theory (but that's why I'm asking you knowledgeable chaps here.. maybe it's not!).. is that I build a vertical wall 5 metres wide x 3 metres high of cheap lcd tv's that I can get from Aldi brand new for £150 each = only £2k total spend. If I only use 13 tv's, and leave a blank space here & there throughout the wall, I end up with a very arty and abstract/cool screen that empowers the subconscious to engage, but though half is missing, it still covers the entire 5 x 3 metre back wall, but doesn't need all 25 tvs to fill it in - just 13 tv's randomly scattered with a few empty spaces. To clarify, I've attached a Jpeg of what I mean - that might explain a bit better.. the white spaces are just gaps thru the tvs to the back wall.

I hope I'll be able to switch about between full screen and multi display.. that would look superb over a 5 x 3 metre area, and wouldn't be affected by stage lighting as the cheap projectors would.